Are You a Hobbyist?


Hey, writers, don’t shoot the pollster! Wondering how many of you self-identify as writing hobbyists, how you’d distinguish between writing as a hobby and a career (especially if you get paid for your writing and still call it a hobby!)? Go ahead, rant, rave, but vote! And do leave a comment explaining your vote if you like.

Is your writing a hobby or a career?
Hobby
Career
Both
A hobby I would like to turn into a career
I have no freaking idea
  
Free polls from Pollhost.com

3 thoughts on “Are You a Hobbyist?

  1. Brenna Lyons says:

    I have to say both, because it depends on what type of writing I’m doing and why. I write because I love to, and I would write even if I didn’t sell a thing, though I do. But, it’s a business I take seriously. Even so, I’ve written poems, scenes…even entire short stories for fun and nothing more then, surprising myself, sold them. THAT is very hobbyish.

    Brenna

  2. Natalie Damschroder says:

    I don’t care what anyone else calls their writing as long as it doesn’t impact the IRS’s view of MY writing. LOL

    But it’s definitely career for me, always has been. Hobby is done for fun only, and this is not always fun.

  3. Charlene Teglia says:

    A bit late, but I voted. Writing is my career. It’s also my passion. It’s taken me quite a while to turn my passion into my career, but well worth it. Talk about job satisfaction! *g*

Leave a Reply

