Simple Question for Writers

Post anonymously if you like, but this is for those of us who are relatively new to writing (for me, about 2.5 years), and those who are brand new. How long did you write (I don’t mean you penned a poem when you were ten) before you received your first contract? And how many books did you pitch before you became published?

I’ve seen everything from “first book, written in one month, picked up right away by big NY house” (that might be a slight exaggeration) to “128 rejections of six books over ten years.”

5 thoughts on “Simple Question for Writers

  1. Nonny says:

    Umm. Are you talking about new to writing, or new to publishing? Cause a lot of us have been writing for years and years before we actually hit publication…

  2. Ciar Cullen says:

    Writing romance or the genre you are currently pubbed in. I mean putting together a manuscript for publication. Sure, I wrote for years in nonfiction, for academic reasons, etc. How long ago did you start a fiction manuscript novel to pitch to a publisher.

  3. Bernadette Gardner and Jennifer Colgan says:

    I started writing my first original romance novel in 2002. My first short story was published in 2005 and that first novel in 2006. I’ve wanted to be a novelist since I was 10 which was a LONG time ago in a galaxy far, far away.

  4. Rene Lyons says:

    I began the first Templar novel (the series I wanted to try to get published) in July 2005. It took me three months. It was borderline awful. lol Before capping it with an ending I began Midnight Sun. So you figure, I started writing it around October 1st. I submitted it to Samhain on December 26th. I was contracted the first week of January.

    It was lightening fast roller-coaster ride!

  5. Penelope Marzec says:

    I became serious about my writing in 1988. I did not receive a contract on a book until 2000. I wrote more than one book in those twelve years. I wrote lots of short stories and some articles as well–which were published. But the contract for a book for me took twelve long years. I was working and raising children at the time, too.

    I am always so thankful that I did not give up.

Leave a Reply

