Is there room for religion and politics here?

There are lots of threads going around (no doubt prompted by one little letter) about politics, religion, and…romance publishing! Hmnn. Can we, should we, should we not separate our religious and political lives from our writing or blogging or reading? Do you judge writers who express a view different from your own? Or do you not give a damn, just interested in whether they write a good story? Is there a writer important enough or big enough to you (the romance industry Bono, so to speak) that you’d listen to his or her views and perhaps be prompted to action on some social issue? If Nora Roberts had an opinion on the War, would you care? Will you go see Mel Gibson’s next movie? What if romance writer Betsie Boop was arrested for DUI and was an accused anti-Semite? Would you buy her next book?

3 thoughts on “Is there room for religion and politics here?

  1. Lauren Dane says:

    In my opinion, we all have things that matter to us and those things are indelibly etched into who we are and they come out when we write.

    Now, I read people who I know are different than I am, who are more conservative or who have different religions, etc than I do all the time. I like that little pieces of people come out in their books.

    At the same time, when I hear about someone who spews hateful stuff or things I believe to be repugnant, I wouldn’t give them my money or my time. That’s just me.

    And no, I do lurve me some Nora and it makes me happy to see that she holds opinions similar to my own on certain issues, but I don’t look to anyone but my own heart and mind on issues of great importance.

  2. willow says:

    “should we not separate our religious and political lives from our writing or blogging or reading?”

    Is it not sometimes our religous and political lives that affect our writing or blogging?
    I’m not really sure about reading…. I think it does depend on whether somebody writes a good story, unless of course it is COMPLETELY against a certain religion, etc.

  3. Tempest Knight says:

    IMHO people are entitled to their opinion about religion, politics, war, etc., and I’m willing to listen to them with an open mind. I don’t have to agree with them, but I do respect their opinions for what they are – personal opinions.

    However, I don’t care for close-minded people who try to shove their opinions down my throat. I have the right to disagree with them. Getting into a debate is pointless for me since opinions are just that, opinions. We are all right, and we’re all wrong. *shrugs* This whole “I’m right, therefore you’re wrong” is childish and a waste of time. I’ve got better things to do with my life.

    However, I’m not blinded by people’s fame. I’m not into the “cult of personality.” So just because whoever is famous says so and so about an issue isn’t going to necessarily sway me to see things their way.

Leave a Reply

