Open Blog–Come On, Don’t Be a Wuss


Owing to the wooziness of the blog owner and the need for a little downtime, I’m hoping you’ll jump in and liven up my blog! So, here’s your chance to be funnier, more vitriolic, more insightful, more anything than I usually am! The winner, as judged by me if I get at least 15 entries will win a signed paperback of Mayan Nights or a download of The Biggest Kahuna, winner’s choice! Pick any or all of the following questions:
1. The book I read this summer I loved most:
2. My greatest achievement this summer:
3. My biggest disappointment this summer:
4. The most embarrassing thing that happened to me this summer:
5. Why I sometimes wish I were a Lesbian. (Obviously not for those who are.)
6. Why blogs and loops are making me want to throw my computer out the window. (If you mention this one, you’re not going to get the prize, but go ahead, I’ll see if anyone has the nerve.)
7. How much I love Treasure Hunters, Ghost Hunters, or Prison Break and why.
8. How Old Bay Seasoning saved my marriage.
9. Why I think the Yankees will win the World Series.
10. Your summary of the year’s biggest romance publishing scandals, short version ;o)

18 thoughts on “Open Blog–Come On, Don’t Be a Wuss

  1. Michelle Arroyo says:

    Sometimes I wish I were a lesbian because I would love to have a wife! Have someone to wear all the hats that I normally wear: maid, chef, bottlewasher, butler and general day-to-day know-it-all. I’d like to take it easy for a spell and be waited on hand and foot. We could take turns, a week at a time, and then cuddle.

    Only a woman could really appreciate the importance of cuddling. And I wouldn’t hear any flack over cramps or just because I’m in a bad mood have to be accused of PMS’ing.

    Plus, rough and stubbly is hot and nice, but I bed soft and caressable is really nice too.

    I could enjoy a fart-less bed! Let’s face it ladies, do you fluff the sheets if you accidentally let one fly? Emphasis on accidentally. Do you ever emit such malodorous scents that make your partner’s eyes water? To not be subject to such atrocities would definately be a nice change of pace.

    My kids would probably love to have two mommies. They are spoiled enough as it is, but, well, they kind of have two mommies, because Grandma lives in…. scratch that.

    Hmm. I can’t think of another reason currently, but I’m sure someting will come to me.

  2. Jennah says:

    Okay, why not. Here goes.
    1. Book I loved~ I read Northern Lights by Nora Roberts and loved it but nothing beats Karen Marie Moning, Spell of the Highlander.

    2. Greatest Achievement~ teaching my daughter to swim. Yay!

    3. disappointment~ the tornado destroying our camping trailer. No trips in it this summer 😦

    Okay, I’ll skip and answer a few further down:
    7. I don’t have time to watch TV. I’m checking emails, on the forums or writing.
    8. What’s Old Bay Seasoning?
    9. Go Jays! (yeah, right)
    10. My answer to the publishing scandal would be the definitions in the RWA. I don’t know much about it, but there was an awful lot of talk.

    Thanks, this was fun.

    Jennah Sharpe
    author of Along the Hibiscus Path and Storm Surge

  3. Natalie Damschroder says:

    I wasn’t gonna do this, because I don’t consider myself funny, vitriolic, or insightful, but then I got to this one:

    7. How much I love…Prison Break and why.

    Well, duh. There are no prisoners hunkier than Dominic Purcell, Wentworth Miller, Amaury Nolasco, and Marshall Allman–there’s a type there for every woman! And they far outweigh the fact that there are no fake lawyers more annoying than Robin Tunney.

  4. jennybrat says:

    The book I read this summer and loved most is JD Robb’s Naked in Death.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I have read many books from FAR!!!
    I loved your book The biggest Kahuna, Laura B. Details fo the Hunt, Willa Okati’s The Brotherhood, Jet Mylke’s Heaven series, JJ Masa, Nix Winter and many more!! I can’t wait for Pele!!! Teresa

  6. Ali says:

    Hi, Ciar 🙂
    Wow, it’s so hard to choose a topic from the list 🙂 Hmm…how about #10? I don’t know if it’s a scandal or not, but Harlequin is getting rid of their Bombshell line 😦 What’s next? Chocolate? lol

  7. Emma Petersen says:

    1. The book I read this summer I loved most:
    Bound by Sasha White! Have you read that book? One word for you, WOW!
    2. My greatest achievement this summer:
    Selling three novellas to Cobblestone Press.

  8. Lucinda says:

    1. I love all of Janet Evanovich’s books, and I’ve been reading the re-releases of her old books as they come out. “Smitten” is the latest one.
    2. My greatest achievement this summer has been buying a house. We close on it today. YAY!
    3. My biggest disappointment this summer has been getting rejection after rejection on my newest WIP.
    4. I embarrass myself all the time, so it’s hard to think of just one.
    5. I love men too much, even when my husband’s aggravating, I still don’t wish I were a Lesbian.
    6. Because I don’t have time to keep up with them! I’ve been bogged down in work this week and only made one entry in my blog.
    7. Sorry. I don’t watch any of those shows, but I’ll make a guilty-pleasure confession. One of my favorite shows is “The Girls Next Door” on E! People can’t believe I watch that, but I think it’s hilarious.
    8. Can’t answer that one. I don’t know what Old Bay Seasoning is.
    9. I don’t follow baseball, but I’m guessing they’re a fan favorite.
    10. Would that be the girl who was caught plagarizing? Idiot.

  9. SM says:

    Awwww, shucks…I wanted to write about # 5….now I have to re-think my whole entry.

  10. Babe King says:

    Hey, my biggest achievement this year would be having the biggest kahunas. I mean, for once I’d stand up to all the rugged males who push me around. Gee they make 7 yr olds tough these days.

    And I think it is hilarious that you called your husband a jackass after YOU had a colonoscopy. I mean, just who’s ass was jacked up at the time for the doctor’s to have a look see? What a view, ladies and gentlemen. Who would be a proctologist by choice? Or be married to one? Everyday they go off boweling with their mates.
    I think it’s great that your husband could be with you. He was probably cracking jokes because he’s nervous about no longer being the only one who knows you inside and out. Bummer. At least despite the trying circumstances his humor carried on under turd, um… undeterred, or perhaps he was just showing his guts and going through the motions? 🙂

    Hmm, that’s probably about as much pun-ishment as you can digest at one sitting.

  11. Ciar Cullen says:

    Very nice so far ladies LOL
    Old Bay Seasoning…hmnn, it saved my marriage. I’ll tell the story some day. It’s the spice mixture they use in Baltimore to steam crabs….

  12. Jennifer L. says:

    Good questions, but I’ll comment on two:

    #5 Why I wish I were a lesbian- I’d automatically DOUBLE MY WARDROBE. Helloooo! Clearly I’d pick my girlfriend based on wearing my size and kick-ass clothing gear.

    #7- Why I adore TREASURE HUNTERS- That show has so many unforseen twists. To think I’ve fallen in love with some Southie firefighters and a geniuses named Francis and Sam!

  13. Pamela K. Kinney says:

    The book I read this summer I loved most:

    Gina Farago’s Ivy Cole and the Moon, a grwat werewolf horror novel from an author who has become a good friend. I bought it at Ravencon this past April and realizing I’d see her at Fantasci and haven’t read it started into it. It was really an enjoyable read. I would recommend it.

  14. Cherie says:

    1. The book I read this summer I loved most:

    It would have to be keeper of the spirit by ruby storm. The book just touched me like no other book as done for a long time. But I read so many good books this summer, including a few ebooks that I recently got into.

    2. My greatest achievement this summer:

    not getting hurt. lol and learning how to cook some more meals.

    3. My biggest disappointment this summer:

    not getting out more.

    4. The most embarrassing thing that happened to me this summer:

    ya know I really cannot think of anything, so this is good unless I did something so bad I blocked it from my memory.

    5. Why I sometimes wish I were a Lesbian. (Obviously not for those who are.)

    Becouse another girl would be more sensitive to my needs then a man can be.
    plus we could have our periods together. aww
    crave chocolate together…
    OK my husband hates chocolate although he still will go get it for me he does not understand why any one would crave it.
    Actually I think I’ll keep my husband I rather like not having to share my chocolate!

    6. Why blogs and loops are making me want to throw my computer out the window. (If you mention this one, you’re not going to get the prize, but go ahead, I’ll see if anyone has the nerve.)

    umm I actually like the blogs and loops. really don’t have a problem with them if it’s not my own lol.

    7. How much I love Treasure Hunters, Ghost Hunters, or Prison Break and why.

    I really only watched Ghost hunters and prison break a few times, I loved prison break though because my husband watched it and occupied him so I could do other things without getting interrupted.

    8. How Old Bay Seasoning saved my marriage.

    Umm What?

    9. Why I think the Yankees will win the World Series. Umm?

    OK I really do not care who wins. maybe I would be more involved if
    one: I liked sports
    two: lived closer to new york
    Three: liked base ball, that is base ball right? < --- do I get brownie points for getting that right?
    10. Your summary of the year’s biggest romance publishing scandals, short version ;o)

    Umm? Must have missed that.

    ~Cherie~

  15. Jenn on the Island says:

    How I Spent my Summer Vacation
    A short Essay by Jenn on the Island

    Besides working nine and a half hour days at my horrible temping job and fulfilling the hoopjumping requirements of the government program that sponsored my new business that I’m so not enjoying I’ve been reading, writing and reviewing historical romance.

    I would say my favourite book was Lords of Ch’i (I can’t believe everyone else missed this butter-spreading opportunity) but I haven’t read it yet. I loaded that hot little number onto my palm pilot and I’m waiting for my beautiful silver elven earrings to arrive.

    Wait a minute, I’ve already won a contest on this blog. Am I even eligible for this?

    Dammit, I’ve totally lost my train of thought. Bailing out.

    The end.

  16. Amy S. says:

    The book I read this summer I loved most: Megan’s Mark by Lora Leigh. It was awesome!

  17. Ciar Cullen says:

    Hi guys. Okay, at random, I chose Amy S. as the winner of my prize. Amy, contact me at ciarcullen1 at yahoo.com for your prize! Thanks guys :o) All cute answers.

  18. Amy S. says:

    Thank you!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

