Ciar’s Best eBook of the Summer!


Congrats to Lee Rowan for her book Ransom, the winner of our contest! Thanks also to everyone who participated in this poll! I will review Lee’s book on this blog in the coming weeks. It’s available at LindenBayRomance.com.

Congrats are in order to everyone who was nominated as well! I hope you enjoyed seeing how your readers appreciate your work.
Now, to a few emails! I was surprised by the some of the reaction I got to this contest. I received notes that expressed a little dismay that this is just a popularity contest. Hmnn. Well, most contests are so in a way. There may be another book out there that is “better” by some standard you may hold than Lee’s book, but this group liked hers.

I was accused of holding a contest to drive traffic to my blog. Your point?

Finally I was called onto the carpet for not notifying folks this contest was going on. There’s not a big prize attached to this, no big van is going to pull up to Lee’s house with a million dollar check LOL But I did advertise it, and be forewarned, we’ll do this again in the Fall! So stay tuned.
All the best,
Ciar

8 thoughts on “Ciar’s Best eBook of the Summer!

  1. Debbie Mumford says:

    Thanks, Ciar! I think it was a brilliant idea … both for traffic to your blog and for letting folks know I’ve got an e-book for sale! (And I wasn’t even the winner!)

    Enjoy Lee’s novel!

  2. Amanda Brice says:

    Don’t sweat it, Ciar. I thought it was a great idea! Sure, you did it to drive traffic to your blog, but what’s wrong with that?

    And yes, you did promote it. I wouldn’t have known I was listed if you hadn’t!

    Thanks for running this contest! I’m sure it will help promote lots of e-books, and that’s a good thing. 🙂 I know I’m planning on buying a few titles that were listed.

  3. Ciar Cullen says:

    PS–if anyone knows Lee personally, I would greatly appreciate them letting her know. I cannot find a contact for her. Thanks!

  4. SM says:

    *sigh*
    People just have too much time on their hands when they get so upset over such trivial matters.
    I, for one, would have no idea about the world about which you write had I not found my way to your blog and site.
    (well, sort of….)

  5. Lauren says:

    Oh whatever! It’s your blog, not a democracy. Jeebus!

    and who cares if there was a prize? I mean, what’s it to people to begin with? I don’t get why people choose to be pissy about this stuff when the world is filled with truly unjust things.

  6. Anonymous says:

    No million-dollar van? Dang!

    Hi! One astonished writer here. If it’s any consolation to anyone, I really didn’t expect to win this – mentioned the poll to a couple of friends in my writers’ group with the notion that it would be cool to get a few votes. You posted the notice on at least a couple of the larger romance yahoogroups during busy promotions, so I expected there’d be hundreds of votes for more popular authors. (Ransom’s only been out since July 1, and it was my first book.) I only heard about this win because a friend who nominated me emailed me to get over here and look.

    Honestly, I think the holiday may have made a difference in the number of votes. A longer voting period probably would have, for sure. But I did work hard on the story, and no way will I apologize that 40-odd people liked it enough to vote.

    I’ve been enjoying the back-posts on your blog and have bookmarked it, so yes indeed, you’ve increased your readership by at least one!

    I just hope you like Ransom at least a little – winning a review that turned out to be “take this stinky thing away” would be really anticlimactic.

    THANK YOU!

    Lee Rowan
    lee.rowan@yahoo.com
    (still working on website!)

  7. Ciar Cullen says:

    Congrats, Lee, and I’m happy for you–a debut book already so popular! I look forward to reading it, promise. Going to buy it today and take it away with me for my long weekend. Whatever I think is only one person’s opinion, but I’m sure I’ll love it. :o) Wish I had a big prize for you! But hopefully you’ll see many sales and all my best wishes for a bright career!

  8. Jenn on the Island says:

    Congrats Lee!

    I’m ROFL at the comments. Complaints about having a contest and complaints about not advertising your contest. Just goes to show it’s impossible to please everyone!

    Like I said to my neighbour “I am dictator on my 5 acres. Do whatever you want on yours.

Leave a Reply

