The Hardest Thing I’ve Ever Done


In writing, I mean. I’m in agony. It’s real pain. I’m overhauling the first book I ever wrote, The Princes of Anfall. It’s humiliating, and frustrating, and really, really hard. Did I mention it’s really hard? This story called to me, started me writing. I look at it now and my brain freezes up. Stilted, childish, full of cliches. I’m getting through about five new pages a night. Holy moly, this is…

Has anyone gone through this? It’s two years old, and I feel like I wrote it a thousand years ago. The trouble is that it’s so fixed in my mind, it’s hard to change. Any tips? At least I have the plot LOL, that’s something. I keep telling myself, “look how far you’ve come, look how much you’ve learned.” Thud. Help me Obiwan. I’m dying here. I’ll be back in cyberspace when I get through this.

PS–scroll down and enter my Love’s Alchemy contest if you’ve yet to do it!

4 thoughts on “The Hardest Thing I’ve Ever Done

  1. Rene Lyons says:

    Good luck, Ciar!

  2. Tempest Knight says:

    Making changes to a story is hard. You don’t want to lose focus of the plot and the conflict. But during the rewrite, it’s almost impossible not to change things. It’s hard to stay true. At times you feel like it’d be easier to write the story anew. Just hang in there. I know, cliche… Sorry… *s*

  3. Emma_Sanders says:

    Yes, I’ve tried to do it. I’ll succeed one day. 🙂 Good luck to you. It’s never easy tearing apart any part of our work.

  4. Toni Sue says:

    I lucked out and a publisher loved the storyline of my first book and we are now in the process of editing it. I’m one of the few who got their first completed manuscript published as their first published work, or so I’ve been told. It’s hard to have someone else tear it apart so, trust me, it’s best that you are doing it yourself! 🙂

Leave a Reply

