Be a Crone for a Moment!

There’s so much advice for new writers out there. I regret some of the tips I’ve given, realizing now I’m too new to be giving advice! I hate some of this stuff I read: write x hours per day, stick to a genre, follow this precise formula…but that’s just me. I think the really helpful tips sometimes come from our mistakes. Perhaps you jumped on a contract too quickly, changed companies too often, CHANGED YOUR PSEUDONYM (honestly, be really sure you want to do that)…the list is endless. This certainly goes for editors too–what do you wish you would have done differently?
Be a pal to a new or aspiring author–put on your wisdom cap and tell us what you wish you would have known back then…whenever back then was.

One thought on “Be a Crone for a Moment!

  1. Rene Lyons says:

    I wish I would have known how many times you have to read through a manuscript during edits. Make sure you write something you don’t mind revisting about a gazillion times.

    Don’t rush things. Don’t be afraid to ask for a push in your deadline to give yourself enough time to make your manuscript shine.

    Don’t be afraid to ask questions…no matter how mundane they might seem.

    Don’t hang on every piece of advice as if it were coming from God Himself. Everyone has their OPINION. Write what you feel and believe in what you write and others will too.

    And never presume to think you know it all. I’m a published author and truth is, I don’t know squat. I have so much to learn! The more I learn the more I realize I need to learn. Always remember that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

