Giving Reviewing a Bad Name


I gotta rant. If you don’t like rants, please look away. This is not about a review of any of my books; in fact, this isn’t about my books at all. It’s about the ability of any idiot with internet access being able to create a review site, but not the sense or intelligence to lay off. Sure, throw it all back at me if you like–anyone can write a book, but not everyone should…whatever clever thing comes to mind.
I just stumbled upon a site today (and I won’t name it because it will give them some sick satisfaction that they annoyed someone) that gives out tequila “worms” as their rankings. I was happy to see a pal got a great recommendation, then read some of the rest of the site. I won’t repeat the language used here because I like to keep this blog PG-13. Suffice it to say it’s a Smart Bitches rip-off, without the smartness. Sarcasm is the lowest, and easiest form of humor, and when you can’t even pull that off well, then you’re really scraping the bottom of the barrel. (I’m a good example of that, yep, heard you think it a mile away.)
What’s going on here? These sites are popping up like weeds, and they have the impact and merit (and language and class) of Flava Flav’s reality show. Are these the women who were last picked in dodge ball and want to get back at the “in” kids? Wanna-be writers? Readers who don’t seem to really like anything they read? Might I suggest trying a newspaper, U.S. News and World Report, Churchill’s History of Rome in four thousand volumes? Stop reading and reviewing romance if it all stinks! Or write something better yourself! Find a different hobby. Volunteer at a soup kitchen, gather goodie bags for the troops, teach a child to read, learn to knit.
There’s a difference between the fine art of reviewing (which many sites do well–we really don’t need more) and spewing forth profanities for shock value. I know most romance readers are too smart for this trash and these sites will go away. In the meantime, I just had to rant.

2 thoughts on “Giving Reviewing a Bad Name

  1. M.E Ellis says:

    LOL I’ve been reviewed by this site, granted I knew the consequences before I submitted. It’s only their opinion they express. Doesn’t mean I had to agree with it.

    Which I didn’t.

    And neither did every other reviewer my book was sent to.

    :o)

  2. Scarlett Sanderson says:

    I’m fortunate to work for a review site that believes in praising the romance novel. In fact, Ciar, I reviewed your book Mayan Nights for A Romance Review.

    As a reviewer, I try to keep in mind that sitting down, writing a book, editing it, putting all the thought, time and effort into it takes a lot of courage and determination.

    As a ‘newbie’ writer, the new trend of slating books scares the hell out of me LOL

Leave a Reply

