What Do You Celebrate?


I celebrate Christmas. As Dave Chappelle would say–“There, I said it!” I don’t celebrate “the holidays,” although I could, because one side of the family is Jewish. But I’m Catholic (gasp!). I don’t celebrate “winter” or go to any gatherings called “winterfest.” My friend sitting in the next office celebrates Hannukah. We were chatting this morning, and found ourselves dancing around these words for some reason. How stupid! We work at one of the most politically correct institutions of higher education in the world, so every year there’s a delicate balance we all struggle with–gifts? Decorations? The campus basically settled on snowflakes as the only safe decoration. This year, however, a rebellion!

The grad students–from many countries and of several faiths–decorated the whole department. We’re glowing! Red and green, silver and blue, and enough empty space for atheists and agnostics. A tree to satisfy the pickiest pagan!

Why are we sucking the life out of our religious holidays? It’s like living in a Target “wonderland” commercial. The blanding of diversity–Humbug! I say, bring it all on!

3 thoughts on “What Do You Celebrate?

  1. Toni Sue says:

    AMEN!! I mean, really people! Just because someone wishes you a Merry Christmas and you don’t celebrate it, that doesn’t mean that the person sending the wish means you malice or harm! Take it as it was given and if they say, “Thank you, but I celebrate Kwanzaa.” Smile and say, “Happy Kwanzaa too!” Can’t we all just get along and co-exist??? It shouldn’t be about CHANGING our country so much as integrating. December 25th is Christmas. If you celebrate it, you should be able to wish others a Merry Christmas, even if they don’t! I don’t get offended if someone wishes me a Happy Hannukah! I just smile and say something along the lines of “You too!” Whoo, someone kick that soap box out from underneath me. 😉

  2. SM says:

    Thank you, Toni Sue. Very well said. So, in the spirit of the season and integration, HAPPY KWANZANNUKAHMAS!!!!!
    And please have a wonderfully delightful New Year two!

  3. Rene Lyons says:

    I’m right there with you, Ciar. I celebrate Christmas proudly. I have a Christmas Tree. NOT a holiday tree.

    Thank you for this post. You write what I think every time I hear of someone trying to take the religion out a the most religious of Christian holidays.

Leave a Reply

