Oh Gawd, He’s Gay

I’m mentally unstable. It’s the only explanation. I had no idea one of my characters in my WIP is gay. He just announced it to another character. Imagine my surprise! Now I have to write a m/m scene. I don’t know how to do that! Looks like it’s time to catch up on some new reading material. Crickey. It really throws a monkey wrench into my original plans. Okay, now this is the ultimate panster’s dilemma. I don’t even control my fictitious characters. Is anyone else this strange?

5 thoughts on “Oh Gawd, He’s Gay

  1. SM says:

    Good for him! It must have taken a lot of courage for your character to come out like that! You should feel proud that he trusts you enough to share it with you. πŸ™‚
    btw, I don’t think this is all that strange. It makes sense to me that characters take on a bit of a life of their own and sort of “direct” you in where to take them.
    (This coming from the “dreamer”, however….perhaps I too am that strange)

  2. Toni Sue says:

    Yeah, my characters have totally thrown me curve balls before. I haven’t had one come out of the closet yet, but I’m still new to the writing world. It’s bound to happen eventually πŸ™‚ Keep me posted on how it goes.

  3. Becka says:

    My characters have definately led me around by the nose, so to speak. πŸ˜› That sounds like quite the revelation, Ciar. I hope it all goes well for you. I’ve had curve balls that totally throw off the entire notes I’d written for the book.

    That sounds like one of those “Good Lord, what do I do now?” moments. LOL

    Good luck!

    ~~Becka

  4. Robin L. Rotham says:

    Yup, Ciar — after one of my menage heroes revealed himself to be the heroine’s brother later in the book (ewww), I can totally relate. I’d wondered why he didn’t seem too into her (both figuratively and literally) and why these other two guys kept popping into my story, wanting into her pants! Fortunately, there wasn’t too much incestuous contact to go back and write out. Why is the author always the last to know? πŸ˜€

  5. Maura says:

    I’m finally learning, sem-plotter or not, that I won’t win a fight against my characters. I’ve had one hate his intended heroine already and instead was drawn to her best friend.

    Sigh πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

