The Seven Deadly Sins, or My Resolutions


The painting here is entitled “The Seven Deadly Sins Go Clubbing” and the painter is Nancy Farmer.

I’m Irish Catholic, and therefore have a lot of experience contemplating my sins. I’ve been on my knees for fun and for penance. I think the Seven Deadly Sins as a guide to a sane writing life are underappreciated by the romance community.

LUST, or unwholesome morality (sex without love), desire for excitement, or the need to be accepted and recognized by others, is a killer. So, my resolution is to remain a non-erotica writer. I just don’t care about sex without some promise of love.

GLUTTONY, or waste/overindulgence, in this context manifests as the unwillingness to share resources. In hell, you’re forced to eat live rats, toads, lizards and the like. So I’m going to go out of my way to share the little I know with aspiring writers. Actually, I think I’m okay in this area.

GREED/AVARICE refers largely to the acquisition of money. In this case, I think I will continue to give to charity, but start getting a little greedier in writing matters. I like paychecks. Although I don’t want to be put in a pot of boiling oil in hell.

SLOTH! Whoops! A big one for me. Write an hour a day, no matter what? Nah, but put butt in chair more often. Or I’ll get thrown in the snake pits!

WRATH–inappropriate hatred, anger, denial of truth, self-denial. The rejection letter. The edits. Become a better writer, Ciar, and things will go better.

ENVY. In Dante’s purgatory, the envious have their eyes sewn shut with wire, because they have gained sinful pleasure from seeing others brought low. EEEEWWW. Ever wish another writer would drop off the face of the planet?

PRIDE–not the good kind. “Love of self perverted to hatred and contempt for one’s neighbor.” I associate this with the 8th modern deadly sin of the romance world–snarkiness, flaming, bashing, and generally being an all-around know it all. You get whipped for that one, but I know some of you might enjoy that!

Give me that old-time religion (Dante’s version) any day.

2 thoughts on “The Seven Deadly Sins, or My Resolutions

  1. Ann(ie) says:

    “Ever wish another writer would drop off the face of the planet?”

    Sometimes I read when popular authors are putting out there (not naming names) and I don’t understand why they were published (or why they sell so many copies) but it doesn’t really impact me a whole lot in terms of visceral envy

  2. Rene Lyons says:

    Amen to this post, sister. lol

    I like the snark. What I can’t stand is nasty.

Leave a Reply

