The Elderly Need Not Apply

Where are they? The old ladies, the old men. Maybe it’s because I’m approaching 50, and reexamining my place in the scheme of things (drat), but I’m noticing a dearth of romance characters who are, well, over 50. There’s the occasional wise crone or aging soldier, but these characters are usually stereotypical and marginalized, just like they often are in our society.

I’m guilty of this, not throwing stones, trust me. I know, the argument can be made that if you wanted real life, you wouldn’t read a romance. So we keep all the gritty stuff of real life out of stories. Since when did old people fall into the category of “things” we’d rather not think about? We’re so youth-oriented, aren’t we? …making a note to have a well developed senior citizen character in a book in 2007. How about you?

2 thoughts on “The Elderly Need Not Apply

  1. Racy Li says:

    Awhile ago, at an RWA luncheon I found myself talking to Bertrice Small about this very issue, and she said she doesn’t write them because when she reads a novel about a 20-something heroine, she puts herself in that mindset and it makes her feel young again.

    Of course, I suppose writing about thousand year old immortals doesn’t really count šŸ™‚

  2. anny says:

    You’ll be happy to know I have “old guys” in my books, Ciar! Every single book. I’m afraid I don’t know how to write the “chicky” books because that was so long ago I don’t remember. Too bad. I think the older person is more interesting because they’ve lived life.

Leave a Reply

