Can We Talk? Freaky Reader/Reviewer Comments


Share, won’t you? I’ve been on the receiving end of some really funky notes lately. It got me thinking about the weirdest reactions to my writing in general, or my books in particular. So, here’s my list of odd questions and comments. Please add your own.
1. Regarding Mayan Nights: I’m going to Mexico, where can I meet the archaeologists in your story.
2. Regarding The Biggest Kahuna: a reviewer complained about the forced sex scene (there isn’t one).
3. Today’s lovely question: How the hell did you get so high in the Predators & Editors poll? Answer: I have no clue (although a suspicion), it makes no sense to me either, but that’s a very rude question–bitch about me to someone who ISN’T me!
4. I really enjoyed your xyz book. These are invariably Cynnara Tregarth’s stories. Our names aren’t even close, although we are.
5. Also today: How did you get Deidre Knight as your agent? When I do, I’ll tell you how I did it.
6. I don’t like that a gay guy is the villian in your Lords of Ch’i. I don’t even know how to answer that one.
7. I don’t like the gay Jamaican guy in Princes of Anfall and The Ghosts of Key West (yes, he appears in both). I guess the writer meant he’s too flamboyant? I was in Key West, and this is based on a real landlord I had when I was there. So phooey on yooey.
8. Someone went out of their way to tell me they didn’t like a book. Okay, I don’t watch 24. Am I writing Keifer?
9. I don’t like your photo. Swear to God, I got that.
10. Your Wizard of Time is a rip-off of Harry Potter. Hmmn, I haven’t read a Harry Potter book. I guess I’m just psychic.
11. I think you write those Madam Philomena predictions. Okay, so that makes YOU psychic.
12. I heard you left Triskelion after a fight at RT. I’ve never been to RT.
13. I heard you left Triskelion because of their contract changes. It changed after I started writing elsewhere.
14. I’m tired of you talking about yourself on your blog and yahoo group. Okie dokie.

Share–come on, I know you can do better than this.

12 thoughts on “Can We Talk? Freaky Reader/Reviewer Comments

  1. Sela Carsen says:

    I don’t even know what to say to some of those! They don’t like your photo??? WTF?!? And what’s with #14? That’s just weird.

    Thanks for sharing these, though! I got a giggle out of them, even though you might not have. 🙂

  2. angeleque says:

    Just wow.

    My wierdest comments –

    They thought my heroine was a slut because she carried condoms in her purse. (From a contest judge.)

    My hero didn’t act like the [{black men} – I’m changing this word because the other used was offense.] do in movies and on t.v.

    And the one that really irriated me – My characters were not ethic & urban enough and were too much like the huxtables. (I’m assuming they meant successful, urban, professional, college-educated african americans).

  3. Ciar Cullen says:

    Angeleque–that’s just downright scary, honestly. I hope you get all the nice comments to balance those hateful ones–they are hateful IMHO.

    I love hearing from readers, I really do. Laurie Damron, my pal, just blogged at Romancing the Blog on the subject. I guess I just hate the criticism :O)

    I have “created” Black characters, and I have always been edgy about it, because I get overly neurotic about it (since I’m lilly white Irish/German). Oh yeah, my Black Jamaican gay guy. Maybe THAT was the problem–I never thought about it. Sigh.

  4. angeleque says:

    I’ve had some wonderful comments too from readers, fellow writers and my editors so it hasn’t been all bad.

    Hmm – My favorite comment was – Not only was the story hot (erotic romance) but I was moved by how much in love they were. The love just made the sex even hotter.

    But then again some people just love to criticize.

  5. Myrddred says:

    I heard you left Triskelion due to a temporal anomaly in space.

    We all know that you wrote Wizard of Time because you wanted to have lunch with Daniel Radcliff.

    I thought Jessica Faust was your agent.

    What triggered the forced menage scene between the shark, the dragon, and the archeologist you wrote?

    How can I get a copy of your book without your photo on the back or did I get ripped off because there was no photo on the back of your last ebook?

    Chuck who wishes to remain anonymous

  6. Laura Bacchi says:

    I wouldn’t know whether to laugh or cry over these. Sorry you had to deal with them.

    I’m almost embarrassed to say I barely get any reader feedback. Now I’m thinking that might be a good thing…

  7. Heather says:

    Amazing how some people forget their manners once they log on to the Net, isn’t it? Hope the nice comments out proportion the nasty ones.

    And how weird that people confuse you and Cynn. Your names and writing aren’t even similar. *shakes head*

  8. Becka says:

    Okay, #14 made me laugh out loud.

    The one reader comment I got that really floored me is when a good acquaintance of mine online said, “If you like Christine Feehan, you’ll love Rebecca’s B*E*A*S*T* series”. That made me feel good all day! 🙂

    I haven’t really gotten any “bad” comments from readers (crosses self), but I do get the “I don’t read Inspies” a lot… This from the same people who say “I love all your books!”

    Well, they obviously don’t love ALL of them. LOL

    ~~Becka

  9. Jenn on the Island says:

    OMG those are hilarious!

    I once had someone tell me they didn’t know what I meant by “shouldering down a door” but that’s as odd as it got…

    I have to remember to email authors I like and tell them how great they are in order to balance out the rest of the nut jobs out there.

  10. Sage Burnett says:

    Ciar,
    I love that you blogged about this particular subject. I received a review recently that’s been gnawing at me.

    The review was from a well known, popular review site. The reviewer said and I’m paraphrasing here, ’cause I deleted the review. “I really wish Ms. Burnett would have said that the hero and heroine were older.”

    On the first page of my book, my heroine is chatting with her best friend. Heroine tells her friend she’s finally free of a twenty year oppresive marriage. First page. Okay, so do the math here. At the publisher’s site, my book is under Older/hero and heroines. Although, I never give an exact age for the hero or heroine their ages are late thirties, early forties. And they are still doing the nasty. lol.

    Sage Burnett

  11. Shelley Munro says:

    Ciar,

    You know, I’m feeling incredibly left out. My comments are usually along the lines of “when are you writing about X character?”
    My mouth dropped open on reading some of the above. LOL I had to shut it quick because it’s summer down here and there are flies about.

    Shelley

  12. anny says:

    Darn! I feel totally left out. Never had a single comment left. I suppose that could be because no one reads it?

    The only comment I ever got was along the lines of “who are you? and what have you done with anny?” 😉

    Guess those excerpts shocked a few people.

Leave a Reply

