Facing Simon


I’m not a huge American Idol fan, but I have to admit to a few giggles now and then. It got me thinking what kind of balls folks have to go on a show that big and sing. One shrink said the reason a lot of nonsingers don’t know they are nonsingers is because friends and family never tell them. Hmmnn. Well, my friends and family wouldn’t tell me my writing stinks, would yours?

But fortunately for writers, there’s a Simon there for all of us. Agents, publishers, editors, reviewers. Sometimes they’re trying to tell us we stink. I think a few of them actually mean it when they say “this isn’t right for us.” Once in a while you get the equivalent of “try another song.”

Some of you have sat across tables from editors doing a “pitch.” How brave, honestly. We’re all brave I guess, cause we found the guts to go in front of our table of judges and sing our hearts out.

I try to tell folks who are submitting for the first time, “what’s the worst thing that can happen?” It’s not going to be televised, and the worst you end up with is a slightly bruised ego and reality check. Then it’s time to pick yourself up, brush yourself off, and start all over again. At least we get the chance.

2 thoughts on “Facing Simon

  1. L.K. Campbell says:

    I worry sometimes that I’m one of those crazy people who think they have talent, but no one has the guts to tell them they don’t.

  2. Ciar Cullen says:

    You’re crazy all right. You’re a wonderful, wonderful writer, and nothing could get me to say that to you if I didn’t mean it. Well, maybe a week in Tahiti, but short of that…

Leave a Reply

