Ciar’s Passion Reviews: Win This Book


<a href=”http://www.cobblestone-press.com/catalog/books/fortunesfool.htm
“>Fortune’s Fool by Sara Dennis
ISBN: 1-60088-005-3

The official blurb: Three years ago, Valerie’s husband was killed in the line of duty. Now she and her eleven-year-old son have a new home in California’s Gold Country. When he’s accidentally shot with his father’s gun, the race to the hospital puts them in the path of Dylan Graves, a Highway Patrolman with skeletons of his own that he doesn’t want to face. A widow and her son are exactly the people Dylan doesn’t need in his life, or so he thinks. Sometimes, Fate has something else in mind. He’s just hoping he doesn’t end up Fortune’s Fool.

Remember contemporaries? No otherworldy happenings, furry men, aliens. It’s what I grew up reading, and Fortune’s Fool by Sara Dennis struck me as somewhat nostalgic, harkening back to a time when you really had to get your characters nailed down and your emotion real, because there are no quirky bits to fall back on. Not that there’s anything wrong with shapeshifters, honestly. But this book was simply refereshing, exactly what I was in the mood for. It’s a classic troubled (beta) hero and single mother, but if that description doesn’t whet your appetite–Stop! Do not pass go, and give this book a try.

The characters are believable, Dylan is a hero to die for (I promise, you will want him), and the plot, while not terribly original, works. The mild sexuality is actually very erotic. One (tiny) disappointment: the children in this book didn’t sound quite natural to me, but then, I live in the mid-Atlantic states where I don’t even understand the profanities coming from kids these days. A few typos, nothing major.

The real treat is that Sara Dennis can write. Smooth, polished, no “huh?” moments, no purple prose, nothing jarring. The book was so smooth, that you could really get into the characters immediately. You walk with the main characters through each moment of the action-packed story, and Ms. Dennis manages to give each paragraph a real sense of immediacy. The little details (what a mother might do/think if her son were hurt)–she nailed them. The book is missing a bit of sense of description of place, the characters float a little in a house we can’t picture, for example. Bah–all that is trivial.

I have only one way to really judge a book. I got annoyed when my husband turned on the TV, because I wanted to get back to this book to see what happened next. I cared. Yay! I cared about fictional characters! It’s been a while.

Thanks for a great read, Ms. Dennis. 9/10 cop badges for making me care!

Do you want to win this book? Tell me what you think of contemporaries–rants and raves, right here on this blog, and I’ll pick a lucky winner this Friday!

10 thoughts on “Ciar’s Passion Reviews: Win This Book

  1. Becka says:

    Ooo, this one sounds really good. I love contemparary romance–to read. I can’t stand writing them. I don’t know why. I’m addicted to Silhouette Desire, I love that line. And those books are straight, vanilla contemporaries. But whenever I try to write one, I get so bored!

    I have a contemporary (just straight, no shifters, vamps, ghosts, etc..) coming out in December of this year entitled PROMISE ME FOREVER, and it “took” me forever to write. LOL I started it the fall of 2004 and just finished it last month. Ugh. Even my straigh contemp. Christmas novella took me right up to the deadline to finish. (of course, I was in the middle of buying a house at the time, so that could have been it… lol)

    But it is refreshing to see a straight contemporary that doesn’t have any paranormal stuff going on, or that isn’t romantic suspense. Sometimes you just want to kick back and have a lazy read.

    I’ll have to check this book out. 🙂

    ~~Becka

  2. Cherie says:

    Sounds great! I enjoy traditional contemporaries like this very much! I love paranormal but it is nice to be able to enjoy something like this that is about a real everyday relationship.

    Cherie J

  3. Sara Dennis says:

    Thanks for the great review and the opportunity, Ciar!

  4. Ciar Cullen says:

    It’s a fab book, Sara, and I look forward to every single thing you write :o)

  5. Ann(ie) says:

    Thing I hate about contemporary romances isn’t really their fault (and I can say this because I write them). Most authors don’t seem to be able to write them without sticking a ghost, a were, a witch, a vampire in there somewhere.

    And if they don’t go paranormal, then they start going M/M/F/F/M/M/F/M, whatever, until you have no idea whose arms and legs are where and just reading it makes you feel like you’re watching a Cecil B DeMille movie with a cast of thousands standing around doing nothing. Or waiting their turn to rub their manly bits on the back of someone’s neck (thanks LKH, that was the BEST!)

    What the hell is wrong with a man and a woman, falling in love? Make it unique, make it powerful, make it strong, make it special. This kind of extra shit in your writing is like painting your titties and adding glitter because you don’t think they’re hot enough on their. Well, if they aren’t, then all the paint and glitter in the world isn’t going to help those titties.

    So today I’m calling for better titties, I mean, contemporaries, that stand on their own without all the bells and whistles.

    Er, yeah. And I’m spent.

  6. Jessy says:

    I like contemporaries, because I don’t have to figure out the pronunciation of a place, or a person’s name, for the most part, and am therefore better able to get into the story, with no interruptions.

    Jessy

    (I do really love stories, with weres, etc. though)

  7. Becka says:

    Ann(ie),

    Thank God I wasn’t drinking soda when I read your post. LOL!!

    ~~Becka

  8. Liz says:

    It sounds good
    Personally I like contemporary especially the romantic suspense ones. But I agree with ann(ie) they better not be listed as contemporary romance and then have paranormal elements.
    I love paranormals but list them as such

  9. Ciar Cullen says:

    Jessy won the copy of Fortune’s Fool!!! Congrats Jessy!

  10. Jessy says:

    I did, seriously?? but mine was just an itty bitty little post…
    well, it’s in my email, so I guess I did.

    Jessy

Leave a Reply

