A Test of Faith? Guest Blog Friday by Michelle Cary

Or maybe a reality check would be more accurate. Yesterday I read a fellow author’s blog where she talked about having her faith tested. That got me thinking. While I’m not an overly religious person, I do believe in God and the Bible. I believe that there is a heaven and hell and that there is a right and wrong way to live life. Now, I’m not here to have a religious debate with anyone. I try hard not to talk religion or politics with people. But a recent event has tested my faith and at the very least given me a reality check.

My neighbor and friend of 13 years was recently diagnosed with stage 4 cervical cancer (yeah I know it roman numerals). At first they told her it was treatable and for the last 4 months she’s been doing chemo. Now, they’ve reclassified it to “terminal” and are giving her a year at most. I’m devastated to say the least. How could a person as nice and caring as her get hit with something like this? Well, I know part of how. She admitted that she hasn’t been to a doctor in nearly 10 years, so some of it is on her. Still, it seems so cruel to me that someone like her will lose her life to this and people who murder and steal are still around.

Call me cynical, but I’m really finding myself questioning my faith right now. However, I have learned one thing from this. Cherish every day you have. Do all the things you’ve always wanted to do before it’s too late and tell those you care about most how much you love them. Like Tim McGraw’s song says. “Live like you were dying.”

Personally, I plan to learn piano, learn how to speak Gaelic, travel to Ireland (sometime in the future), and lose all this extra weight that keeps me from feeling good about myself. There’s probably a few more things I’ll add later, but the fact is I don’t know when there won’t be a “tomorrow for me” so I’m going to start taking advantage of every day!

Michelle Cary

http://www.michellecary.com
http://www.myspace.com/scrapchik
http://www.michellecary.blog.com

Leave a Reply

