African American Romance Writers! Help!

SADLY, I’M CLOSING THIS POST FOR LACK OF INTEREST. I WAS CHALLENGED TO REVIEW SOME ROMANCES WRITTEN BY BLACK AUTHORS, AND WAS EAGER TO BUY ONE. I GOT SOME HATE MAIL, AND SOME ATTA GIRLS. I’LL CHALK IT UP TO LOW RATINGS ON MY BLOG LATELY ;O)

Some of you may have seen a post a while back on Romancing the Blog in which, phew, I brought up the issue of the great bookstore divide (the shelving of African American romances), and other issues. My post got a lot of responses I didn’t expect, including responses from Black writers who are absolutely not united on the topic (nor I suppose should we expect everyone to agree).

The question posed by some people was “What should we do?” I don’t know why there aren’t more African American romance writers joining groups like Romance Divas, or chatting on various loops and blogs, but I can’t think of much to do beyond this–

If you are a Black writer and would like to blog about your romance here, please tell us about your book in the comments section. I will pick one that interests me (hey, I’m the one buying it), and review it here. I will close this post at the end of this week.

I look forward to hearing about your work.

Leave a Reply

