How Sela Carsen Ruined My Dinner/Review: Heart of the Sea

Friday night is ribs night. Grocery shop on the way home from work, clean the apartment while the ribs slow cook in the oven. Pretty tired after that, I had a half hour to myself before Bruce would be home from work. Skipped Ghost Whisperer to start Sela Carsen’s Heart of the Sea.

Ooops! Forgot the roasted potatoes, so threw them on a pan, seasoned them, popped them into the oven, tossed the salad, pet the cat, back onto the couch.

A half hour later, I’m totally immersed in the book, wondering idly who’s burning something. You get the idea. Sela Carsen wrecked my potatoes.

For a girl who lifted her Celtic name right from her mother’s birth certificate, I sure know nothing about Celtic folklore. The first I knew of Selkies was from Jules Jones’ Spindrift (m/m Loose ID–check it OUT!).

This is the second book I’ve read in the Samhain Love and Lore series. (First, see below, Carolyn Ivey’s Wildish Things). It was very short, really adorable, and very well written. I loved just about every word (except some bowel-loosening phrase–didn’t much like that LOL).

It’s all about the dialog in this one, and I’m a sucker for great dialog. Sela’s heroine, Meriel is one of the most adorable characters I’ve read recently. A selkie who’s had a rough seven years, has a chance at becoming human, or at least human once in a while. This is my idea of a kick-ass heroine. Not a bitch-goddess, but funny and strong and interesting. Her love interest, a down-on-his-luck former billionaire, Ronan, has to come to grips with several brushes with death and being rescued not once, but twice by a blubbery fur-covered woman. There’s not much I can say about the plot without giving it away, the story is so short.

Sela pushes so much action and dialog into this story that the pace is fast, fast, fast. Cute to bittersweet to magical and back to cute and then to sexy and then to frightening… Amazing.

Not a word of this story is believable in any way–that is, if you try to describe it to someone. It doesn’t have that fairytale quality of Carolyn Ivey’s book, instead, it has an almost music video pace to it. My only complaint is that a few times, I wasn’t quite sure who was talking. There’s so much action and dialog that the point of view gets a little confusing in places.

I absolutely, positively adored this little gem. It’s Celtic mythology with a chick-lit tone. Sela has a completely refreshing voice. I loved Meriel, and hope that somehow, I get to meet up with her and her Selkie friends again.

Leave a Reply

