Do You Write with Images or Music?


I’m one of those people who needs absolute silence when I write. Which means no one can be home, TV can’t be on, no music. Nada. I even put earplugs in. But I must have an image handy. I usually make it my screensaver.

This is what I used while writing Mayan Secrets (coming in April from Samhain), the sequel to Mayan Nights. It’s a drawing by a fellow named Frederick Catherwood, and old Freddy there figures heavily (at least his journal does) in this book. I’m starting to understand what a visual person I am. I like to mentally “look around” while I write. The palm trees, the tumbled ancient stones, the flit of a bird in trees.

Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what? Can you READ with music on? That always amazes me.

Leave a Reply

