Whoops, I Did It Again, But I Undid It


I don’t know what it’s called, but Madison Avenue does. Maybe the impulse reaction? I recently dragged myself through emotional mud writing a novella that was…okay. It was targeted at a new line…okay, it was for Nocturne Bites. I could not finish it–about 500 words from the end. I simply did not give a rat’s ass about the story. After much wringing of hands and conversations with my crit partner, I deleted the thing from my computer, and along with it, something I had started as a regular Nocturne submission.

The question I ponder now isn’t why did I delete them, but why did I start them in the first place? To submit to a company I don’t even read, to a category genre I don’t even like? I thought it would be a good way to “break in,” whatever that means. But it’s like breaking into a butcher shop when you’re a vegetarian.

There’s a knee-jerk reaction to calls for submissions that I bet a lot of romance writers feel. Oh, maybe I can do one of those! Sure, you may be able to. But do you want to? Really? Was that on your plan for the year? Didn’t you say you want to write longer, deeper, richer, more involved books? Break out of the box a bit? Take a chance, go for broke?

Sigh, le big sigh. Anyone else ever do this?

Leave a Reply

