You Go Your Way, I’ll Go Mine

Don’t say it. I know you want to. I’m throwing my vote away. There, I said it for you.

Bull. I am voting with my heart, my brain, all my faculties. It is not a strategic vote, of course. “OH NOOOOS!” you shout. It will take a vote away from Obama! (I just got this at work as I found the courage to put up a campaign button on my bulletin board.) If you’re not a liberal democrat on this campus, you’re considered two breaths away from the local mental health facility.

Should I go into the whole “our forefathers fought to give us freedom…” yada yada? These are the same folk who like to “get out” of jury duty. Who don’t vote locally.

Sorry, I don’t like either of the main party candidates, or their running mates. I am actually happy that a Black man will be president, but that’s more of an historical landmark than any faith that he believes he can accomplish anything he promises.

I was born in this country, have voted in every election, and have the right to vote as I see fit. I will defend your right to vote as you see fit.

You go mainstream, I’ll go upstream. Yeah, I know, I don’t have a paddle. But such is life.

Leave a Reply

