A Quality Cat–Don’t make me wash the kitty again

user756_1145854583

From a grammar professor: Quality may be the most abused and overused word in business English. The word is a noun, and means a characteristic or a degree of excellence. Don’t use quality as an adjective, as in a quality product — leave that sort of cant to advertising copywriters. Use well made, good, useful, something like that. Never use quality as an adverb, as in a quality-built product. Perhaps the best advice is: never use quality.

I’m not quite as picky, but dang, at least tell me what kind of quality (noun) it is. If you tell me you have a quality company (as the high-quality publisher Liquid Silver Books recently did on Dear Author), I have the option to think it’s poor-quality.

I hate this one. And I think it’s too late. It has drifted into common usage, thanks to “quality GM trucks and cars” (hardeharhar) and other schlocky admeisters.

One thought on “A Quality Cat–Don’t make me wash the kitty again

  1. anny cook says:

    I’ll add it to my list. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

