The Easiest Cake in the World that Will Make You Special

retro-mom-staring-at-workWe all want to be very special, especially around the holidays, right? I can’t bake worth…oops, this is about food. I can cook up a storm, but bake? I’m missing the genes. So was my mom, and my grandmother could burn air.

Ah, but my MIL Philomena, she keeps it real in the oven. I usually get her to make this cake every time I have a fall event, but it’s time that I graduate beyond the stovetop.

Forthwith, the easiest cake recipe that will make you very, very special. I guarantee it’s spectacular. Prep time, about 5 minutes.

Use: 3 large eggs, one large can of pumpkin pie mix with spices (or doctor up your own spiceless can with your own mixture), 1.25 cups sugar, 1 can evaporated milk.
Beat the hell out of it, and pour it into an ungreased 13″ x 9″ pan.
Pour onto this liquid mixture one box of dry (unprepared, untouched, right out of the box) yellow cake mix. To be clear, the dry goes on top of the wet. Cut 1.5 sticks of margarine and dot top of cake mix with the slices. Sprinkle with one cup of chopped nuts of your choice (or more, or leave them out).
Bake 350 degrees until done, usually 1-1.5 hours. Toothpick test, yada yada.

Be special.

7 thoughts on “The Easiest Cake in the World that Will Make You Special

  1. Charlotte McClain says:

    Oh, that looks divine. I’ll have to try it when I have an oven that works.

  2. Angela James says:

    I make this every year because I’m not a fan of pumpkin pie. I usually take it to any holiday parties I’m invited to, as well, and it’s always a hit!

  3. Seeley deBorn says:

    I’m gonna have to figure out how to do that without a box cake. Cause, I’m afraid, I got the gene. Funny, cause holy crap can my mom ever NOT cook, bake, heat up a burrito in the microwave.

    I figure it’s the chemistry thing. Love the chemistry. Likely would have pursued molecular gastronomy if I’d known about it at the time.

  4. Lina says:

    This was so delicious, I’ve added it to my collection. Like Seeley, I would definitely experiment with different toppings.

  5. anny cook says:

    Well, this sounds yummy. I plan to try this at Christmas! Thanks!

  6. Valerie says:

    I just spent the whole afternoon baking. I got a fantastic cookery bookery and tried out a few recipes. I think I’m going to be very special tomorrow….*G*!!!

    Valerie

Leave a Reply

