Need new radio hat, signal interrupted.

retrothingamahat72808Writing without a plot = insanity. Srsly.
I have characters, I have a world (in fact, two worlds). I have the reason the characters are in these worlds. I know that boy meets girl, loses her, gets her back. That’s a given.
I gots evil. Tons and tons of scenes. Atmosphere galore. Chapters of it.
Right now, my work in progress is more like a series of Seinfeld episodes (aka the show about nothing).
I wait a few days, work on something else, clean the fridge, do a little shopping. Open the document labeled “Steamside Chronicles.” Nope. They still aren’t doing a thing. I have to go to work tomorrow, and maybe by tomorrow night Fenwick, The Man, Screw, Barber, Sweet Pea and Petti will have pulled it together.
I’ve tried every plotting tool available. The little boxes and flow charts stay empty. How the hell am I supposed to know what’s going to happen? I haven’t written the book yet? Ask the damn characters!
This quagmire makes me feel like a real failure. Fail. I fail. Big freaking F. The only good thing? I can’t sub the book until I’m finished, because I can’t write the synopsis. I can’t even write the query. At this point, I can’t even send more to my crit partner, because she might ask about the plot.
Have you rewired your brain to allow you to become a real writer–ie, one who knows how to plot in advance? Is it an expensive procedure? Does it hurt much?
Okay, I’ll go write another scene. And then maybe vacuum. That should kill a few minutes.

4 thoughts on “Need new radio hat, signal interrupted.

  1. I have to have at least an outline plot first cause I suxor at pantsing.

    So far there are only two things that have worked for me – one is using notecards where I write a sentence or two about each scene and then put them in order of how I want the book to flow.

    The other is to use a storyboard which is quite similar to the cards except it uses a big foam core board sectioned off into squares and post it notes that I write the scene info on.

    Both give me the ability to move things around, rebalance, even to make room for new ideas or scenes.

    I really do my brainstorming while I do these plotting techniques. After I do this storyboard, I can write a synopsis and story.

    You could try something similar with what you have so far.

    But, honestly, some people just can’t be creative within that kind of a structure. It just doesn’t work for them.

  2. Toni Sue says:

    I can’t write a thing until the voices tell me what to write, just like you. I feel your pain. Perhaps we can share a padded cell one day?? 🙂

  3. Lorri-Lynne Brown says:

    Ciar – stop trying to push it. Write the scenes as they come, and it will all come together.

    You have scenes – synop them and put them on index cards – rearrange until you see the pattern.

    I have every faith in you.

  4. anny cook says:

    I’m afraid that I’m a shameless pantster. Everytime I plot it out ahead of time, that story just dies deader than a doornail for me and I never move on. Ugh.

    So maybe write a short story in the meantime. I mean realllly short. Two pages. Just to get the juices flowing.

Leave a Reply

