A job to offer, a painful awakening, and a really wonderful guy

soup20line

Unemployment. What a wake-up call I’ve had. Not that I lost my job, thank God, but I’ve never been more grateful for it. I have a job to offer someone. In three days, I’ve reviewed over 100 resumes for one loading dock job. Bankers, salesmen and women, white collar, blue collar, t-shirt. It’s been heartbreaking–all have basically the same story. Most have been at the same spot for close to 20 years and have been layed off. The only thing getting me through this grim process (some of the men are in tears and nearly beg) is that before the holiday, I’ll be able to give someone a wonderful Christmas gift.

Anyone feeling generous, please send a kind thought or prayer to a really, really wonderful guy named Tom. He’s my brother, and he has inoperable cancer. He just lost his mom, and while he has the best attitude of just about anyone I’ve ever met, he could use all good energy coming at him–even from strangers.

Thanks to everyone who took time to write me about my short free story at Samhain (see below). You are all very generous and what a gift to have heard from you!!!

12 thoughts on “A job to offer, a painful awakening, and a really wonderful guy

  1. Lorri-Lynne Brown says:

    Tom is in my prayers, always! As are you sweetie!

  2. ciarcullen says:

    Thanks my friend.

  3. Leah Braemel says:

    Aww. So sorry to hear about your brother, Ciar. He will be in my family’s prayers.

  4. Foxhawke says:

    Is Tom your genius brother???? Tell him to hang tough!!! Miracles and cures happen. Don’t give up – he’s got you for a sister. Anything’s possible.

    And I think that’s an awesome Christmas present.

    Now, how’d I miss that free read. Dang. I’ve been too busy.

  5. Pam P says:

    Another prayer for Tom, and you, too, hang in there.

  6. Nell Dixon says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your brother, hugs and prayers for him and you.

  7. anny cook says:

    My prayers as always are with you–and of course, your brother!

    Blessings on you as you make someone’s Christmas season!

  8. Karin says:

    You and yours are in our thoughts and prayers. We have had a couple years of family deaths from many different causes (including cancer). My sister-in-law lived many years past the date they gave her. Every minute with any of them was extra special. Sometimes we take those close to us for granted – until we get a wake up call and realize how much they really mean. Hugs and prayers.

  9. Lucinda says:

    I will keep your brother in my prayers.

  10. SM says:

    Once again, I send Love and Misses to you.
    Your brother is ABSOLUTELY in my most Positive thoughts and Prayers!

    Love you!
    SM

  11. Sue says:

    Prayers for Tom and for you. ((())) and a hug to boot.

  12. dhconcerts says:

    Sending good thoughts to your brother Tom and to you and those 100+ men and women who are looking for the one job on the dock.

Leave a Reply

