Out with the old, sort of…

father_time_on_holiday

Happy New Year. It’s a reflective holiday, isn’t it? I can safely say that with the long illness and death of my mom, it was one of the toughest years I’ve had. And yet, I turned some corner. There’s a lovely scene in The Secret Life of Bees in which Lilly is wisely counseled to look within for solace and strength. I found the psychological GPS device that allows for that.

I’m in the process of selling an original poem and letter (unpublished) by James Russell Lowell. If you don’t know his name, he was a pretty bright guy and you’ve probably quoted him without realizing it a few times. I’m sorting through some ugly costume jewelry made less ugly because it belonged to my mom, and am going to get rid of that stuff. Keeping the really old things, though. The Victorian pins and whatnots. Fanny Brice’s earrings. Cullen things and memories. And of course, getting rid of watch parts, a kind of odd passion. And buying more tiki mugs for the collection.

Of all the things coming in to me via Christmas, my beautiful complete Sherlock Holmes may be my favorite, beating out my kindle and Juicy Couture bracelet. Also coming in–a new affection for a little boy who can play ice hockey like no one’s business. He’s a relative, and I watched him skate and play video games (not at the same time) for hours. I saw more Imperial Stormtroopers blow up than I did in the last twenty years combined.

Going out–worry about writing. This market has no room for it. For the first time, I have the same editor two years in a row, and she likes a few of my stories I’m finishing up. Writing is enjoyable again, and my dear crit partner helped me get there, although she’ll never see this. Worry was killing the joy. Worry kills everything.

Moose and I are having Chinese with the friends we dined with for the last several years. Some good things don’t change.

Oh, coming in, a new President. I don’t think he can change the world, I really don’t. But I still think that his election may help heal a wound that is still, after these many years, deserving of some serious work.

We’re feeling the pinch, but we have a warm place to live, a really cute cat, and one another. Oh, and a lot of imagination, love, and watch parts. Life is good.

I hope you have a wonderful New Year.

10 thoughts on “Out with the old, sort of…

  1. Nell Dixon says:

    Happy New Year, Ciar

  2. Pam P says:

    Happy New Year, Ciar, may it be a better one for us all.

  3. laughingwolf says:

    happy new year to you and yours, ciar 😀

  4. anny cook says:

    Blessings on your New Year. May it be one of contentment and peace.

  5. L2 says:

    Happy New Year sweetie – may it be filled with good!

  6. Lucinda says:

    Happy new year, Ciar! I hope that 2009 will be a good year for you.

  7. gwen hayes says:

    Sometimes she is at the right place at the right time and she sees something she needed to see.
    Happy New Year–let it be a joyous one for us all.
    Love, Monkey

  8. SM says:

    Happy New Year, long “lost” pal.

    My New Year’s Resolution: TO FINALLY get together for coffee/tea/whatever….even if I have to bribe you with old watch parts!

    🙂
    Love and Peace!
    SM

  9. Happy New Year sweetheart. I know the old one was a tough, hard ride, but I am praying this new one to come is amazing and happy for you. Consider yourself hugged.

    Toni Sue

  10. laughingwolf says:

    i can feel for you, my dad died early february, leaving me the oldest in that clan… 😦

    new year’s blessings to you and yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

