Ciar Recommends! THE DEVIL INSIDE, Kate Davies

925“The Devil Inside” by Kate Davies
Publication Date: January 27, 2009

Maybe it’s living on the East Coast? I never had a cowboy thing. Certainly not a rodeo thing. Aside from clowns, Nascar drivers, or criminals, rodeo stars are on my “least likely to get me to drool” list. So when Kate let me read The Devil Inside before its release, I kinda gulped. Oh noooos…it’s rodeo. Here’s the official blurb, because I’m awful at plot summaries:

Thirteen years after her father was killed in a rodeo accident, Samantha Quincannon is facing her worst nightmare. An EMT, she has avoided rodeo duty like the plague. Now her career depends on her ability to face down her fear. Cody Shaw hasn’t seen Sam since the night of her father’s accident, and their reunion is anything but typical. So is her reaction when a bull ride gone wrong lands him, broke and bleeding, in her reluctant care. And, until he’s well enough to travel, in her bed. He knows he’s far from a model patient, but would it kill Sam not to act like she’d rather climb on a bull herself than have him underfoot?

One thing hasn’t changed—their off-the-charts sexual tension. They both put up a good fight, but soon the heat burns through their resistance.

Even as Sam fights to protect her heart from the one danger she didn’t see coming, something else becomes clear. Rodeo is in Cody’s blood, and nothing, not even Sam, can make him quit taking crazy risks. It’s up to Sam to decide if she’s ready to put on her big-girl boots—and ride.

So I hate rodeo books, but I heart contemporaries! This is the comfort food of romance–and it hit me at just the right moment. The news on the economy is awful, work is stressful, writing is giving me hives, yada yada. The cure? For two nights, Kate Davies. Escapism, for sure, but not brain-dead escapism. Not American Idol escapism. I bought this story and the characters.

In a sense, The Devil Inside is one long scene, drawn out over several days. If you’re a writer, you know that rule about putting the hero and heroine together a lot, from the start. Kate does just that, and it works so well. Sam (the girl) is cooped up in her own apartment with wounded, hunky Cody Shaw–a guy she’s craved for at least thirteen years, no less. And she has to do things like change the poor fellow’s bandages in her own bed.

I mean, come on! That has to be on the top twenty list of fantasies. The guy of your dreams is in your care, he needs you, and you want him. Of course it’s not that simple. There’s some action, which given it’s rodeo stuff was far more interesting than I expected!

Kate is good at the slow burn leading up to white-hot passion. Very good. And her writing is smooth and clear. Her descriptions are great–I really feel as if I know what to expect if I go to a rodeo, or suddenly have to nurse a hunky cowboy back to health ;o)

I did wonder why the rodeo community didn’t rally around Sam and her family when her dad died, but that is answered at the end of the book. And it didn’t strike me as very realistic that a hospital released Cody to Sam’s care…I needed a little more explanation of why that happened.

Despite that moment of needing to just go with the flow (it’s a romance, after all), I adored this book. This is like homemade mac and cheese for the winter-weary soul. Two thumbs up!

Want to win a Kate Davies book? Comment on this post before I post my next review, and you’ll be entered to win one of her backlist ebooks!

20 thoughts on “Ciar Recommends! THE DEVIL INSIDE, Kate Davies

  1. LJ White says:

    Great review! I love cowboys so I’m really looking forward to The Devil Inside. Caring for a hot guy is on my top fantasy list too. 🙂

  2. Lindsey Ekland says:

    I like how Kate builds a relationship between her leads. I read cowboy books but not many rodeo stories. I appreciate your candor on what you liked and what bothered you and now I am intrigued to find out how Kate presented the information to see if I agree. Most fiction books require one to suspend reality and just accept the created universe as is. I read fiction books because I want to be entertained.

  3. Stephanie says:

    The contemp books I read mostly have an air of humor to them but there’s something about a cowboy that will get my attention weither its past or present. And that title will catch my eye everytime (INXS fan LOL) But thanks for giving your opinion on this story. It’s nice to see someone’s else blunt opinion before buying a story.

  4. I’ve read a couple of cowboy historical and contemporary romance novels but maybe one about the rodeo. I’m liking the sound of this novel and I hope to get it soon since I’ve never had the pleasure of reading any of Kate Davies novels.

  5. Natasha A. says:

    Cowboys rock! I grew up right near Calgary! I can’t wait to read this on…it is on my list! 😀

  6. Kaz says:

    Wow! I’m not much of a fan of watching rodeos… I’d rather participate 😉

    I haven’t read many cowboy fics but, I really liked the blurb & your review. Kate Davis is a ‘new’ author to me.

  7. angie says:

    liked the excerpt and i loved the cover

  8. Lillie A says:

    I haven’t read a rodeo romance in years, but this one sounds great!

  9. Mary Gustafson says:

    Looks like a great one. On my TBR list now.

  10. Umea says:

    Sounds very interesting!

  11. Sharon says:

    I read the excerpt for ‘The Devil Inside” and it is hot!!!

  12. naughtytidbits says:

    I like her work so am looking forward to this book. With this cold we certainly need all the help we can get, it’s nice to find authors that write comfort and hot reads.

  13. Beth R says:

    The Devil Inside sounds like a great read.

  14. Michelle B says:

    I’m not a big rodeo fan either, but this book sounds like a good one. Thanks for the review!

  15. sandie says:

    Great review Ciar. I love all the excerpts and blurbs I’ve seen so far about this book. It sounds fantastic. I did see something in one of the excerpts where Sam was wondering why the hospital let Cody sign himself out.

    Thanks for the review Ciar. It just makes me want the book more.

    Sandie

  16. Jane says:

    I’ve never read a rodeo romance before. Looking forward to the release of “The Devil Inside.”

  17. Great review, Ciar! I’ve been waiting to read this one, too!

    Blessings,
    Rhonda :0)

  18. MarthaE says:

    Great Review! Sounds like a lot of “fun” tension building while Sam takes care of that cowboy!

  19. Karen says:

    Nice review. I’m not a great fan of rodeo’s either, but I heart contemporaries, too. So, maybe I’ll give it a try.

  20. Laurie says:

    I love Kate’s work and look forward to reading this one! Great review, Ciar! Please don’t enter me in the contest – I’ve already read all of Kate’s books!

Leave a Reply

