Thank you, donor

I don’t know who you are. I don’t know who mourns you–a parent, a child, a spouse. I think you’re probably a male, and I know what your blood type is at least. You were healthy when you were alive. You gave three people a second chance at life last night. One of them was my brother, Tom.

I don’t know what made you or your family decide that it would be fine to donate your organs, but I prayed for you and yours this morning, when I got the call that Tom’s liver transplant was done. We don’t know yet if his body will want to accept your generous gift. I pray that the person who needed your heart and the person who needed your lung are doing well.

I wish there was a way I could hug you, and tell you all I want to say. That Tom is the very loving grandfather of three beautiful children. That his community respects him for the work he does with underpriviledged people. That he loves directing local theater, that he’s funny and smart, and a good brother. That he just lost his mom a few months ago. We weren’t ready to lose him, too. You have given us hope, at least bought us time to enjoy his company.

God bless you, donor.

4 thoughts on “Thank you, donor

  1. L2 says:

    oh Gods – I’m so glad to hear this!

    You and Tom will remain in my prayers – and I will include this unknown donor and his family as well.

    I have made it clear to my family that if something should happen to me, I want them to tell the doctors to use anything that will help another – I can only pray that my gift(s) would mean as much to the family and friends of the recepients as this gift means to you and yours.

    Gods Bless sweetie!

  2. anny cook says:

    Blessings on your brother and the donor and family that made his transplant possible. My best wishes for all of them.

  3. laughingwolf says:

    blessings to you and yours… and the donor and family 🙂

  4. Kate Davies says:

    *swallowing around the lump in my throat*

    Hugs and best wishes to your brother, your family, and you — and heartfelt thanks to the family of the donor who made it possible.

Leave a Reply

