Auction Win! While agents, writers were failing…

I’m really glad I didn’t read all the agent fail notes or the twitters and linked blogs to agentfail. It’s too much anger. I got a little something off my chest on a semiprivate forum (yes, there are no private forums), but stopped following that after it started going south. There is no place to rant, rave, or get anything off your chest except in the comfort of your living room with your spouse or friend, or perhaps on the phone with a crit partner… Agents can have it tough, writers, editors, publishers, the mailman–everyone can have it tough. I really liked J. Rappaport’s post because she writes and is an agent. And despite an earlier forum post in which I said I was tired of reading about how hard agents have it, the truth is, it’s none of my business if they want to vent. As someone pointed out to me, just don’t read it if you don’t want to hear about it. It got me thinking about how lucky I am to have a job, for now. I can’t be online during work without “stealing,” so my perception of working and working at home may be a little skewed. Most of us probably work hard and even harder now that times are tough. I hope that some positive comes out of all the vitriol online right now. Maybe folks will get sick of it and we’ll swing towards a more understanding interwebs. Or not. Time will tell.

But while that was going on, in this tiny place, something really wonderful happened. I want to thanks those who put their own troubles aside to help a truly kind and special lady. Writers bellied up some great prizes, and some of the same writers bid on those prizes. Romance Divas rock very, very hard. This is the sort of thing romance writers and editors are really good at. Helping one another. And while I wish the economy didn’t make things like this auction necessary, I’m so proud to be part of it.

3 thoughts on “Auction Win! While agents, writers were failing…

  1. Ciar – thanks for doing this for another writer. I know it will be appreciated. In this difficult economic time, it can be difficult to both receive and give help. Auctionwin is a good thing! 🙂

  2. Nell Dixon says:

    Thank you for doing this Ciar, romance writers are very generous in spirit and Diva’s are pretty wonderful.

  3. Lucinda says:

    Thank you, Ciar. You know when something really bad happens to us, we realize how trivial and petty a lot of the negativity that you mentioned can seem. It’s also when something really bad happens to us that we can find out how blessed we truly are, and our greatest blessing is caring, generous, supportive friends. It brings home that final scene at the end of It’s a Wonderful Life when George reads Clarence’s inscription in the front of Tom Sawyer. “No man is a failure who has friends.”

Leave a Reply

