Romance Snopes

arksearch
I’ve tried to cut back on my surfing time lately, as I’m playing beat the clock on a reworking of a manuscript. Plus work, plus family–you know.

Also, as a dutiful wannabe better author, trying to keep up with the things that matter or should matter to me. Promotion, goings on, electronic whatnots and publishing whosits.

I did get sucked into looking at twitter posts on the Romantic Times convention and the Princeton Romance convention (the latter I even visited). I’m sure regarding the former, there are a hundred rumors I’ll never hear. But I’m hearing a few.

Wouldn’t it be great to have a Romance Snopes site? At least once a week I have to point to Snopes for a coworker who thinks Al Quaeda operatives are going to blow up her car at the gas station or gangs are going to flash their car lights and surround her. She doesn’t drink Coke because she’s convinced it can cook a pork chop.

What would you ask a Romancesnopes to cover? My husband is convinced Nora Roberts is too prolific to have written all of her own books. I wouldn’t mind a list of authors who are also publishers or editors. I don’t think any of the current romance blogs is impartial enough to qualify.

What would you ask RomanceSnopes?

4 thoughts on “Romance Snopes

  1. anny cook says:

    I would ask what the average yearly sales are for an e-book. I’ve heard everything from 5000 to 5. So I’d like to know what the average sales are.

  2. ciarcullen says:

    Average sales. Wow. Good one. It’s not 5 and it’s not 5000 would be my bet. I really think to have it statistically valid (ie, useful to you and me) it would have to be broken down by company, genre, and the number of titles available from that author.

    Right now? I’d bet m/m erotic is maybe at the top of the heap?

  3. Ashley Ladd says:

    Interesting idea.

    I’d love to know what sales are like for other writers and what’s really the most popular selling books.

  4. Sue says:

    I’d want to know what really words for advertising! I mean, promo sucks!! 🙂 Streamline it for me!!

Leave a Reply

