A stroll

TheEgyptianDemonsKeeper_DRAFTV2
I’ve started and erased so many posts recently. Only a few friends land here, and I find myself collecting dragon’s eggs (a silly thing I picked up at Romance Divas) and avoiding talk of a conference I can’t afford to attend. Hmnn, pretty sure if I went back a year, I’d find a post similar to this.

I’ve been running, and doing edits, and collecting bits of summer that this year, probably with the passing of my mom, don’t feel so freeing. I can’t make myself pick up a seashell, because of the eulogy I wrote about her doing that very thing.

In any case, I’m brainstorming with my editor, trying to rescue a book I can’t let go of. Going through final line edits, flitting about various sites, landing on nothing. My crit partner suggested I take a break until September, but I’m afraid I have this writing bug. So I feel the pull to write, but not the fortitude to do so well. This will pass, always does.

Right now, it’s good enough that I have an amazing new cover for a book releasing in September. :o) A feast for the senses. Samhain simply doesn’t disappoint when it comes to covers.

Oh, and Michael Jackson. Still the songs are popping up in my brain. And the thoughts that some express, others won’t. Do I forget the accusations? Did he really father those blonde children? Do I care? Of course not. And aren’t there more important issues in the world. Of course. Uh, Billie Jean currently playing in the neural background.

7 thoughts on “A stroll

  1. vivianarend says:

    Fabulous cover.

    The writing… do you have to write well? Just be. Write. Do something terribly silly and write a scene in a genre you would NEVER think to do. Ask your CP to challenge you, I tell you it’s freaky hard and somehow very uplifting.

    A page that will never see the light of day to anyone but you can still teach you something, still bring a smile to your face.

    At least, that’s what I’m telling myself…

  2. Lucinda says:

    Beautiful cover. I love the colors palette and especially the cover model.

  3. Seeley deBorn says:

    Holy gorgeous!

    Can’t wait!

  4. anny cook says:

    Gorgeous cover. Congratulations. As for the book–if you really love it, don’t give up on it. It will be worth the work.

  5. L2 says:

    Great cover – Samhain always does well with covers.

    Like Vivianarend said – write something silly and off-the-wall for you.
    I challenge you to write a 500 word scene in…………a spaceport……..with a talking parrot………an alien hero with a poorish understanding of English…………and a ditzy heroine who really wants to jump his bones. The hero’s bones, not the parrot’s!

    Have fun!

  6. SM says:

    Hi!
    Been thinking about you……
    🙂

  7. Valerie says:

    Love the cover, is it out yet???

    Valerie

Leave a Reply

