WINNER! Ciar Recommends: Beauty Tempts the Beast by Leslie Dicken WIN THIS BOOK

Congrats to Leslie, who wins this book!
BeautyTemptstheBeast72LG
To win this book, just leave a comment and I’ll draw a name at random on Friday.

I’m terrible at plot summaries, so I’m letting Leslie Dicken describe her book in her own words:
Is the enemy of her enemy a friend…or a beast?

Lord Ashworth is scarred by a night of terror years ago that left his face in ruins and his life in shreds. He hides in Silverstone Manor, using rumors that paint him as a horrible, murdering monster to keep visitors at bay. Yet he can’t shake the feeling that the rumors might be true. He tells himself it’s better this way. If his memories ever resurface, at least he will be the only one hurt by them.

The woman on his doorstep, however, simply refuses to fear him. That’s not only an oddity, it’s a threat to his secret…and his heart.

Vivian Suttley has seen the face of evil more than once in her young life. She’s on the run from the latest, a cruel man determined to force her to marry him. Whatever the whispers about the reclusive Ashworth, surely it’s nothing compared to the bleak, violent future she leaves behind.

Ashworth saved her once before, and he’s her last hope for refuge. Yet she wonders if she’s truly safer at Silverstone—or if she has just made the biggest mistake of her life.

I bet Ms. Dicken (aka Jordanna Kay) spent many a youthful hour reading the same post-Victorian gothic romances I did, notably Mary Stewart and Victoria Holt. A dash of Heathcliffe, a sprinkling of more modern eroticism (the book is graphic, but not overly so–hmnn, that’s not so descriptive), a villian, a (someone or something) hidden behind closed doors, and you have a modern Gothic. This was a fun read that moved quickly for me. Dicken’s hero is delicious, of course, with the requisite scar on his face and on his soul. The heroine is plucky yet melts in the hero’s embrace. The villain is heinous, and the ending is happy.

I thought this book was written with great care, lots of feeling, lots of longing, and good description. At times it became a trifle repetitious (maybe a few less “I’m a monster” moments), but all in all, I think any fan of classic gothic romances who wants a bit more heat will love Beauty Tempts the Beast. Want to win a copy? Just comment below!

18 thoughts on “WINNER! Ciar Recommends: Beauty Tempts the Beast by Leslie Dicken WIN THIS BOOK

  1. molli says:

    Don’t enter me Ciar, just wanted to say what a great book this is. Even my hubby is going to read it!

  2. Valerie says:

    Sounds like a great story. I love the cover, looks dark and mysterious.

    I think anything your recommend Ciar is worth reading.

    Valerie

  3. Hey Ciar. Thanks so much for the review and the post. I’m honored to be here! If anyone has any questions about the book (or me), I’m happy to answer!

    🙂

    Leslie Dicken

  4. Lesley says:

    I can’t wait to read it! Unfortunately, I have to wait until I get paid again, unless you choose me as the winner! 😀 hehehe

  5. Nancy Gilliland says:

    Looks like a good book, sounds like it too. I can see another addition to the TBB list looming.

  6. Sherry says:

    Congrats on this book Leslie! It sounds like a winner. Looks like it has a gothic touch to it! Can’t wait to read it! 🙂

  7. I love this story and am so happy a publisher finally discovered it.

  8. Dani says:

    This book sounds great.

    Congrats Leslie! And thank you for the contest Ciar.

    Dani

  9. Joan Woods says:

    I haven’t read any of your books yet. I like the sound of Beauty Tempts The Beast. The book has a beautiful cover. Please enter me in your contest.

  10. Judy Cox says:

    Your book sounds fantastic. I love gothic. The darker and more mysterious!! I love your cover. I will put this on my purchase stack. Good luck and thanks for the contest and thanks to Ciar for bringing you to our attention.

  11. Jo K says:

    Awesome – Haven’t read any of Leslie Dicken’s books, so this would be a neat introduction. This book is defo going on my ‘to read’ list.
    I love gothic romances, this sounds right up my alley, and it’s a Samhain –so I know it’s gonna be ace!

  12. orelukjp0 says:

    Wow. This sounds like a fantastic story. The title hooked me and the cover just cinched it. Thank you for entering me in the contest to win this amazing book. I’ve added it to my to buy list just in case.

  13. dyockman says:

    Sounds like a good read!

  14. Mea says:

    The cover is beautiful and the blurb sounds interesting!

  15. Cindy M says:

    The cover is lovely and the book sound like it is a great read. I absolutely love the plot.

  16. Jo Ann says:

    I really find this very interesting! Best it’s great read! The plot sounds really good. Best Wishes!

  17. Lesley says:

    Wait me? Or Leslie? I’ll bet she has a copy. 😉 hehehe

  18. Rachel Morse says:

    This book sounds so good. It is great that a book has an hero who is not the perfect man.

Leave a Reply

