I never expected this

The_Wounded_Angel_-_Hugo_SimbergI never expected to miss my mom on my own birthday. This first year–everyone warns you about holidays, and special events. But my own birthday? I guess it makes sense. Tomorrow will mark 52 years since Kitty brought me into the world. It will be the first time I don’t hear her voice telling me about the day I was born. No call, no card.

So I will do something tomorrow to honor her. Whether it’s just a stroll through the park to take in nature, which she loved so much, or a visit to church.

Fitting to be writing an Irish tale now. It will be for Kitty Cullen, as every word I write is.

6 thoughts on “I never expected this

  1. Nell Dixon says:

    Stopping by to leave you an extra special birthday hug.

  2. laughingwolf says:

    happy birthday, despite all the sadness…

  3. Lucinda says:

    Yep, I know how you feel. I thought about my parents several times on my birthday.
    I hope you’ve had a good day today.

  4. SM says:

    Aww. Happy Birthday, Ciar! Big Big hugs to you!!!!

    xoxo Shel

  5. anny cook says:

    Happy Birthday, Ciar. Memories ambush us at the most unexpected times. Take time to remember all the good ones!

Leave a Reply

