My dad

family 003
My parents were part of that so-called greatest generation. My mom’s yearbook said “definitely for the Navy.” And Andy was the reason. He served in North Africa and the Pacific, where he was the lone survivor of a plane shot down. He never talked much about the war, like many veterans. But at the end of his life, he said “I’m not sure those guys were my personal enemies.” As a German American with some Jewish heritage, things were complex for the family. Dad said that one of the prisoners they took had our surname, and he always wondered how they were related.

I don’t have any profound things to say about war. I just want my dad, who’s no longer with us, to know that I remember his service.

3 thoughts on “My dad

  1. A treasured photograph, I’m sure. Lest we forget.

  2. Lucinda says:

    Thank you for telling your dad’s story, Ciar. We all need to do that before their generation passes completely away.

  3. Pat Cochran says:

    We’ve had some 18 or so family members in the various service branches beginning with W.W. II.
    Sadly we have lost all those who served through the
    1940s and Korea in the 1950s. God bless all of our
    surviving veterans, they are so deserving of every
    honor and respect. They are all true heroes!

    Pat Cochran

Leave a Reply

