Authors, Be of good cheer!


I’ve learned a lot this year. About myself, writing, what’s important. I don’t think you lose a parent, at any age, without it having a profound affect on you. One thing I’ve noticed recently is that much of what “goes on” on the interwebs regarding writing, romance, authors, agents, editors, fail this and flame that no longer interest me.

I love the editor I work with now at Samhain. Her name is Beth Morgan. I love my very talented critique partner, Gwen Hayes, who just landed a spectacular 2-book YA deal with Penguin. Gwen particularly is a very low-profile, professional person, and I think she’s rubbed off on me a little. When we “met” she said she wasn’t sure she had anything to offer me, because I had published so much more. Ha. Ha. Ha.

I haven’t really been blogging because I haven’t had much to say. The grand dramas of the internet seem like soap operas to me. I can just turn them off, and turn them on a few days later to see it’s more of the same.

I’m enjoying writing, and writing a variety of things–and publishing them. From short stories for a New Jersey magazine to Irish love stories for anthologies to things that you all might one day see published somewhere you recognize. Right now I’m on edits to the sequel to The Egyptian Demon’s Keeper.

And there we have it. The thing I’ve done wrong for five (or more?) years. Cared about the world of writing more than writing. It started with Triskelion, and I never let it go. The inferiority complex, the intrigue, the drama. The things that really interfere with (at least in my case) creativity.

Now, thanks partly to a very trying year, those dramas seem so incredibly unimportant. Because really–aren’t they? In a year when so many are hurting, jobless, even hopeless, does it make much sense to worry about whether someone at RWA lifted an eyebrow or if some agent is “mean”? Nah.

So if anyone should read this, please help me reach out to aspiring authors. Tell them not to worry. Tell them to write and write because they enjoy it. Or to take up tap dancing, if that’s what they prefer. Because every day is a precious gift, and you get to choose how to spend it.

Right now, I’m going to put on some Christmas music and wrap gifts, and then get back to edits.

11 thoughts on “Authors, Be of good cheer!

  1. inezkelley says:

    I love this post. ANd I agree 100000%. Write for love of writing.If it sells, great, if not, it fills that space in your soul. Win Win.

  2. anny cook says:

    Ah, I also took a step back. Haven’t submitted anything in six months. Decided to write what I really love to write. And I’m doing so at a steady pace. Don’t know where the stories will end up, though likely I’ll find a new home. The rest of it? That’s frosting on the cake–or not.

    As for blogging…well in my case it gives me a window on the world. Not necessarily the writing world. Actually, the blog seldom has anything at all to do with writing. Because the other thing I learned was the necessity of having a life other than writing.

  3. Dina says:

    I don’t write and would have no idea even how to start.

  4. Kate Pearce says:

    I totally agree with you Ciar. If you get too wrapped up in the politics and frustrations of the publishing world you can end up very bitter and quite paranoid. You just have to let it go, trust in your writing and surround yourself with people you like. It makes it so much more like fun šŸ™‚

  5. gwen hayes says:

    You sound like you are in a good place. I’m glad.

  6. Nell Dixon says:

    Hugs, glad you feel better Ciar. I don’t get into all that stuff either. I write and submit, talk with my editors and my agent and stay out of the dramas.

  7. “Cared about the world of writing more than writing”

    This. Thank you, Ciar, for putting what has tripped me up these past months into simple enough terms I can finally identify it.

    Between ’07 &’o8, I blithely wrote over 500000 words. I enjoyed every second of my writing time and found a home for more than half. Early in ’09, I decided I wanted to aim for BIGGER and not long into my Internet ‘research’ I discovered RWA didn’t find my publishing credits worthy and as far as some agents were concerned I wrote a ‘dead genre’ and I should write ‘sexier’ or paranormal or urban fantasy or steampunk and that I didn’t have a high enough concept hook or a platform or or or…Yeah, just enough info to be a hazard to my own creativity.

    I started a dozen things this year and only managed to finish one novella (b/c it was already contracted)

    In 2010, I want to just write.

    (sorry ’bout the rant. Just very close to home for me)

  8. Charlotte McClain says:

    Excellent post. I have nothing to add.

  9. Sue says:

    *stands and applauds* I do believe you hit the perverbial nail smack on the head, my friend. Bravo. *HUGS*

  10. susan leech says:

    what a touching story..I was taught years ago to live life one day at a time and to do things you want to do. It isn’t always easy but it can be done and you can still do what has to be done. Too many people try for a goal way beyond a day’s time limit..take one day at a time and your goal will reach where you want it to..all by itself. susan L.

  11. lovely post from a lovely soul

Leave a Reply

