And it starts again…


The Paul Newman photo has nothing to do with anything. I just like it (despite the smoking). I intended to blog all summer, but I couldn’t think of a thing to say. I worked, did some editing, and very recently, went through hell over a health scare (husband). That’s still up in the air, but hopefully will get better.

It’s probably been one of my lamer summers. Vacation called off, too little writing, too little travel, very little just picking up and going out for fun. For the first time in about seven years, I don’t have a book coming out. Actually, I don’t have one contracted. Not even finished. But I needed the break badly.

So, back at work on lunch hour with clueless new students wandering around, dressed somewhat stupidly (mostly the girls who don’t get that high heels and grad school don’t really go together). A noticeable increase in skateboarders. I think I may get mine out of the closet and see how that goes over.

I’m taking two dance classes–and lactic acid is my drug of choice right now. It reminds me my body still works, and though out of shape, is capable of being reconfigured.

And despite the somewhat dour tone of this, I’m not terribly unhappy. I burnt a bridge that needed a major collapse, I formed a few new interesting connections, and I really learned how little the Internet RomanceWeb means to me. Again, I’m not sure what I’ll do next, but I’m not afraid of not going back and dipping in the same old stagnant well.

4 thoughts on “And it starts again…

  1. Jud says:

    Ciar, your summer sounds pretty much like mine. Your comment about high-heeled grad school students suggests we might be in the same line of work. When I was in charge of admissions, I used to get really angry with grad students who turned up for exam proctoring duties in high heels. I felt like ordering them to either go home or remove their shoes and walk around in bare feet.

    Less than two weeks to go to the start of a new semester, and a colleague has lumbered me with translating a ten-page encyclopaedia entry she’s written. What a way to end the summer.

    You made an interesting comment about the Romance Web. For a host of reasons I’ve been exploring the world of e-publishing, reading at least a hundred novels in the past few months and exploring author websites, blogs, mailing lists, etc. The more I explore, the more my motivation evaporates. So many atrocious books, so many illiterate ‘reviews’, so many desperate authors trying to reach out to potential readers.

    As for dipping in the same old stagnant well, I hear you loud and clear. Take it easy and wait for your Muse to guide you where she will. John 3:8?.

  2. Heather Bennett says:

    Did I tell you how badly 2009 sucked for me? Like, biggest suckiest year ever. MAJOR. However, this year is so much better and brighter. I tell you this so you have some hope that the suckiness will fade and you will find your re-purpose. You’re a fighting Irish, can’t let it get us down forever. 🙂
    xo

  3. ciarcullen says:

    Thanks to you both. Nice to “meet” you Jud. Don’t let my tone dismay you regarding epublishing. It is not only the future, it’s actually the present. All you need to do is find the best publisher you can, and ignore the useless tugs and pulls of the internet. Write, write, and write if that’s what you want.
    xoxo
    Ciar

  4. anny cook says:

    Life is an endless series of detours, scenic byways, burned bridges, unexpected sunrises and spectacular sunsets. Along the way we learn which things are important and which things aren’t worth our time or effort. To me, at least, it sounds like you had a very worthwhile summer. I suspect you’ll enjoy the scenic byways more this coming year. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

