Blessed

My brother Bob Schneider passed away today after a series of illnesses. He was 62. He was a professor of social work at the University of Northern Iowa. But he was a lot more–a talented musician, fanatic in his political views, brilliant academically, eccentric, and most of all, a miracle to have beaten nearly insurmountable odds to live to 62.
My faith tells me that he is with his maker, and that he is finally happy. My childish view of heaven has him not infirm, running again, perhaps playing lacrosse or hanging on a heavenly beach. Whatever the truth, I will miss him so much. Rest in peace, Bob. You earned it. I love you.

7 thoughts on “Blessed

  1. Much love to you and your family, dear friend. I am amazed to see this post, as just this morning you and your brother were weighing heavily on my mind. I now understand why. While I am certain that his physical presence will be missed, the love that you carry in your heart will keep the Divine light of his spirit alive for eons to come. Sending you the biggest of hugs.

  2. Jefferson Dane says:

    Now that I’ve moved, I don’t live that far from Cedar Falls/Waterloo Iowa. I’m sorry sorry about his passing, and I’m certain that UNI feels his loss terribly as well.

    You’ve literally had the trials of Job placed upon you, Terry. If only we could lift them for a little bit.

    Chuck

  3. WOW, what a group of cute kids. I’m happy that you had a brother to love and love you for 62 years. I’m so sorry you’ll miss him, but you know you’ll hang out and ride bikes together again someday! xx

  4. Marianne Wells says:

    I felt the need last night to pray again for your brother, Bob, and you. So I did. For peace and comfort for you both and a peaceful passing. I will continue to pray for you now, Ciar, and your family. “And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.” (Revelation 21:4 & 23) … and … “And the city had no need of the sun, neither of the moon, to shine in it: for the glory of God did lighten it, and the Lamb [is] the light thereof.” Bob has now seen and experienced all of this. Isn’t it glorious??

  5. I’m really sorry to hear of your loss, Ciar. My condolences to you and your family.

  6. Pam Pellini says:

    So sorry to hear this, Terry, he struggled so long – my deepest sympathies to you and family, I have similar thoughts about my brother, thinking of him now well and happy in the heavenly realms.

  7. Valerie says:

    Hi,

    You have my deepest condolences!!! I got to know him through you and feel that he was a marvellous person who positively surmounted the odds. I know he is at peace now, definitely back to good health and enjoying himself.

    I believe we can be comforted by the fact that we will meet again.

    Big hugs to you!!!

    Valerie
    in Germany

Leave a Reply

