Allstate is zombiefying me

So the conversation today went something like this:

Me: This is the third time I’ve called.

Her: I can help you with that. What is your claim?

Me: My car got flooded in Irene.

Her: Where was it, blah, blah, blah…

Me: It’s driveable. It just won’t dry out because the padding under the carpet is wet; I think the carpet must be replaced. It’s starting to get moldy.

Her: So when did this happen exactly?

Me: Hurricane Irene.

Her: What was the date of that?

Me: You haven’t had any claims surrounding Hurricane Irene in New Jersey? Really. Okay, wait, let me google the date. Okay, it was August…

Her: What time?

Me: Silence. Thinking about what to say…. Tick…tick… The hurricane lasted a while, so I guess sometime in the night.

Her: Maybe 2 am?

Me: Yes! That’s it exactly, 2 am.

Her: And what was the cause of the flooding?

Me: That would be the hurricane.

Her: Where did the water come from?

Me: Underneath my car. In the parking lot. From the sky originally.

Her: So the hurricane caused the flooding?

Me: Are you shitting me? (Okay, I didn’t say that.) Yes, the hurricane caused the flooding which made water go into my car, soaking the carpet so that it won’t dry out and is now starting to mold over.

Her: I’ve heard a lot of similar stories. Okay, I can help you with this claim. Can you take it to an inspection station today?

Me: No, I can’t get away. Do you have any appointments early next week?

Her: I can only see two days’ appointments at a time. Call on Monday and I can help you. Do you want to hold on for a survey of how I handled your call?

Me: Sure. (Hangs up).

 

 

2 thoughts on “Allstate is zombiefying me

  1. Shelley says:

    OMG!!! This made me LOL at my desk! (thankfully no one else is here right now). Wow. That’s all I can say.

  2. HeatherB says:

    GAAAHHH!!!!
    Customer service training anyone?!?

    WOndering sometimes if they can think and react off their script.

Leave a Reply

