Meet Rebecca Royce and The Outsiders! Win a $50 Amazon GC!

I love Rebecca Royce’s writing, having become a fan while editing her amazing YA series at Decadent Publishing–Initiation, Driven, and *taps foot impatiently*…the next in the series. Lo and behold, an adult romance hit my inbox shortly thereafter, and I really wondered if there was anything she can’t do! Great imagination, great voice, stupendous characterization! So I wondered, since Rebecca’s characters are so strong and three-dimensional, how she felt about her covers? Specifically for her series The Outsiders.

Her answer: Let me start out by thanking you for hosting me! I’m so glad to be here. The amazing artist Reese Dante has done the Cover Art for my series, The Outsiders.  It’s always amazing to me how these talented artists can take some very basic instructions and somehow come up with exactly what it is that I imagined. For example, in the Love Beyond Time cover, I told Reese that the characters were in their thirties with dark hair. That the hero, Kal, was very intense and his heroine, Isabelle, was curvy.  I also let her know what the theme of the book was about.  And boom. She came up with this absolutely perfect representation of Kal, Isabelle, and the book.  (The hero, by the way, is portrayed by cover model Jimmy Thomas.)

In Love Beyond Sanity, the second book in the series (releasing October 1) the characters look very different. First of all, I told her that Charma, the heroine, needed to be a Kate Bosworth type with pixie hair. The hero was also blond and kind of shaggy because he’d recently come out of a magical coma. 

I really think that Reese nailed it.  To me, she perfectly captured Charma and Jason.  From now on, when I think about Kal, Isabelle, Charma or Jason I will think of them as these people.  It’s really amazing how a cover artist can do that—even for the author of the book. 

I can’t wait to see what she does with Love Beyond Loyalty, the third book in the series, which has been contracted by Silver Publishing as well.  I think that covers do sell books. I have certainly bought some based on the design on the front.  In my case, I’ve been very lucky because the artists who have designed my covers have done such an incredible job for me. I do love the collaborative feeling that comes when they e-mail you the cover and you realize they have given you just what you imagined it to be.

Comment to be entered to win a $50 Amazon Gift Certificate! And check out the rest of Rebecca’s Blog Tour dates .

Read a wee excerpt of Rebecca’s newest release and a bit about the author!

“Isabelle Listora stood in front of the creepiest cabin she had ever seen. It didn’t look deserted, not really, but it didn’t look lived in either. It hadn’t been occupied for at least several days, she was sure about that. The door hung open and it looked like the local wildlife had taken what was left of the food from the cupboards. At the very least, Isabelle was relatively sure that she wasn’t going to be finding any neglected children occupying the cabin today. If they were there—and her instincts told her they were not—then they were well hidden and not likely to come out just because she asked.

Everything about what had happened since she had woken up this morning had seemed so bizarre to her. Why was she being sent out into the woods to investigate child abuse? Where was the local agency and why were they not looking into what was happening? She had, in fact, asked her boss those same questions several times before heading off into the middle of nowhere, driving four hours from home to an unknown destination where she would have no police help or known local resources to call upon in case of an emergency. Once again, inwardly, she groaned at the absurdity of the whole thing.”

As a teenager, Rebecca Royce would hide in her room to read her favorite romance novels when she was supposed to be doing her homework. She hopes, these days, that her parents think it was well worth it.

Rebecca is the mother of three adorable boys and is fortunate to be married to her best friend. They live in northern New Jersey and try not to freeze too badly during the winter months.

She’s in love with science fiction, fantasy, and the pararnormal and tries to use all of these elements in her writing. She’s been told she’s a little bloodthirsty so she hopes that when you read her work you’ll enjoy the action packed ride that always ends in romance. Rebecca loves to write series because she loves to see characters develop over time and it always makes her happy to see her favorite characters make guest appearances in other books.

In Rebecca Royce’s world anything is possible, anything can happen, and you should suspect that it will.

http://www.rebeccaroyce.com 

www.rebeccaroyce.blogspot.com

8 thoughts on “Meet Rebecca Royce and The Outsiders! Win a $50 Amazon GC!

  1. Abi says:

    I agree that covers absolutely sell books. If I’m not in love with the cover art- it’s a tough sell for me to shell out money for the book… sad but true.

  2. ciarcullen says:

    Yep, I agree Abi. Also, it’s the tone of the cover as much as anything–it sells paranormal, romance, mystique… I think these are good covers, for sure.

  3. Ciar–thank you so much for having me on here!

  4. Mary Preston says:

    I enjoyed the excerpt thank you. Covers are very important. They need to make an impact & reflect the story well.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  5. Chelsea B. says:

    This book sounds really good! I am looking forward to reading it!

    justforswag(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  6. Wonderful interview Rebecca and Ciar! I have to add this one to my to get list! Thank you for this interview and the contest!

  7. Sorry, forgot to add my addy
    samk1952 at gmail dot com

  8. Laurie says:

    Great interview, Ciar and Rebecca! I love book covers and have to admit that I’ve purchased several books based on the cover. That said, I’ve been disappointed when the cover characters don’t match the descriptions given in the book.

    I’m intrigued by LOVE BEYOND TIME and will be taking a closer look at it.

    Thank you both!

Leave a Reply

