The Shopgirl and the Vampire and a Contest!

I’m really thrilled to have won Boroughs Short Story contest “@First Sight” (okay, a bit dumbfounded, actually). The story comes out this Friday, and I adore the cover. I adored even more working with the extraordinary Chris Keeslar. Writers will know him as a fantastic editor from now-defunct Dorchester. But that description doesn’t do him justice. It’s like me saying I’m the former Editor-in-Chief at KIII communications (they used to own Seventeen and other periodicals). I am. Or the former candy counter girl at Westview Cinemas. Yup, *cough* years ago. Okay, back to Mr. Keeslar, who is the lynchpin of the exciting new Boroughs Publishing Group. He’s why I entered the contest–part of the prize was getting a full manuscript in front of him and to get a crit of it. Wow, what a great editor, honestly. He pointed out the fundamental weakness and gave awesome counsel for fixing it… just so much fun!

But this story has a very personal backstory of its own. It’s my story. And my mom’s and my whole family’s as far back as I can remember. I started this story shortly after my dear brother, Tom Schneider, passed away in March. My grief, so intense, made me think I couldn’t possibly write. But I did, and I wrote my sadness onto the page. I wrote about my mother, Kitty, who was an incredible painter, but had a somewhat depressed life. I wrote about both my brothers (who became “good” and “bad” vampires–no, I don’t dislike either of them–one is redeemed in the full length novel I’m now writing). Mostly, I wrote about myself. About feeling that the urge to write didn’t die with my brother. That there was some light at the end of the tunnel. That I could still have a “happy ever after.” That’s a lot of stuff to put in 10,000 words. I’ve never written anything so quickly. But oh, those edits! :o)

So thanks for listening, and as a real thank you, I want to offer you a chance to win your choice of the first three Lunchbox Romances coming this Friday! Three people will win their choice.

All you need to do is leave your name and a way to contact you. And don’t forget to stop by Friday to see if you’re a winner!

xoxo

Ciar

5 thoughts on “The Shopgirl and the Vampire and a Contest!

  1. Love the cover 🙂 Congrats on the awesome cover, and what a very cool prize!

    Julie/phoenixfirewolf @ gmail dot com

  2. francesca tagliaferri says:

    Very nice cover! Thanks for letting me know. Congratulations, Fran

  3. Thank you for the kind words, Ciar. We’re thrilled that you are one of Boroughs’ authors. Congratulations on winning @First Sight and we wish The Shop Girl and the Vampire great good success.

  4. Nathalia says:

    Congratulations! I heard about The Shop Girl and the Vampire via Heroes and Heartbreakers and I immediately tried to find where I could buy it. Can’t wait to read it!

  5. Toni Sue says:

    I’m so proud of all you overcame to put yourself back in the race! Congrats and we’ll done, my friend. 🙂

    Toni Sue

Leave a Reply

